Wake-up Call

The next book on my review list from http://www.netgalley.com is Wake-up Call by Amy Avanzino.

What would you do if you woke up one morning and your life was not how you remembered it? That’s what happens to Sarah, she fell off a skateboard trying to do tricks with her son, and bumped her head. She can’t remember her life for the past five years. She doesn’t remember marrying her husband Kofi, and she doesn’t remember her kids, or anything else for that matter. It’s a hard change from the business woman she used to be, and she doesn’t know how she is going to manage her new role as mother and wife. Will she get her memory back? Will she begin to fall back in love with Kofi, and her children? Will she accept the “new me” that she has become?

This book had me cracking up for most of it. Not only was the writing hilarious, but I know how it feels to be a mom who just can’t get it together. Sarah has some growing up to do, because she can’t remember anything, and it’s funny to watch her struggle (in a cute way) with her new life. I enjoyed this book. It was a light hearted read, with lots of love, hilarity, some sexiness and definitely a good time.

I would give this book 5 stars, I have never heard of this author before, and I think she did a fantastic job with this book. It had so many elements to it, but it was also a light hearted read. 25535596

9 thoughts on “Wake-up Call

  1. Kerrie,

    I wanted to thank you for the very kind review. I’m so glad that you enjoyed my debut novel.
    Assuming of course, you gave me a five out of five stars and not a five out of ten 🙂 Your review was the very first review I have ever read about my writing. So, I will always be grateful to you that it was a positive one! I also want to let you know that I have shared your review on twitter, as well as my Facebook page.

    Sincerely,
    Amy Avanzino, author of WAKE-UP CALL coming September 1, 2015
    http://www.AmyAvanzino.com
    http://www.Facebook.com/AmyAvanzino
    @AmyAvanzino

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow this is amazing! Of course it is 5 out of 5 stars, lol! Thank you for taking the time to read my review, that means a lot to me! I can’t wait to read more of your books 🙂

      Like

      1. Good Morning Kerrie,

        I will forever be grateful for the kind review you gave my debut novel, Wake-Up Call last fall. It jump-started my career on such a positive note. I will remember your words and how they made me feel forever! Now it’s time to collect endorsements for my newest book FROM THE SIDELINE, and obviously you are the reviewer at the top of my list. I would be honored if you would consider reading an advance-pub copy. If you enjoy the read, possibly offering a comment I might use for a cover blurb? I would also like if you kicked things off for my blog tour? Would you schedule to post the review on July 16?

        Below you can find a brief description of the story. It should be up on NetGallery in a couple weeks.

        Kindest Regards,

        Amy Avanzino

        http://www.AmyAvanzino.com

        http://www.Facebook.com/AmyAvanzino

        @AmyAvanzino

        After losing her marriage, life savings, and waistline, Autumn Kovac is terrified of being hit by more heartache. So when her only child decides to try out for the football team, the over-protective, sports-illiterate mom has a near phobic reaction. But Zachary hasn’t smiled since his father left and she’s desperate to make him happy (and doing nothing, and hoping for the best, hasn’t been working). She reluctantly enters a new world of youth competitive sports, full of overzealous coaches with Vince Lombardi dreams and fanatical parents trying to achieve vicarious glory.

        Unexpectedly, Autumn begins transforming within this strangely addictive new culture, finding her voice, facing her past, tackling her fears…and uncovering the secret that’s been keeping her from her son. After meeting her ideal catch, she finds herself back in the dating game and discovers some fierce competition of her own. Will Autumn make it off the sideline? Can the underdog finally win?

        ________________________________

        Like

      2. Amy it would be more than an honor to review your book, I am absolutely beyond excited to read From The Sideline! I cannot wait to find out what happens next in this series. July 16 has your name all over it! Can’t wait!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

