Fairytale Beginnings AND The Royal We

I decided to put these two books together, because I feel that they are part of the same genre, and I read them both recently. They are both what I would call modern romances, or modern fairy tale type stories. These are not the usual type of books that I read, but I was asked to review them both, and I thought that they would be very charming, and get me back into romance books.

The first book is Fairytale Beginnings (A Heartwarming Romantic Comedy) by Holly Martin. The main character Milly, is a beautiful blonde girl with a love for Disney movies and all things fairy tale. She has a positive personality, and finds it easy to look for the more beautiful side of life. In this beautiful love story, Milly is employed with a company that decides whether old castles and homes are worth money, and she has been sent to check out the castle of one Cameron Hearthstone. Naturally, her and Cameron find a quick attraction to each other, and at first they try to keep it professional, but obviously the sexual tension is too much and they eagerly fall for each other.

This story is set in England, in a little town that is straight out of a fairy tale, with witches, and solstices, curses and  of that fun stuff. In a way this story made me feel like I was in the middle of a beauty and the beast retelling. At first Cameron is seen as a scruffy, crotchety author who doesn’t want to be seen in public, and of course Milly is the Belle of the tale.

I felt like some parts of the book were added in after the author decided what she wanted to do with the book, such as the curse. If she would have brought it up at the beginning of the story, instead of in the middle, it would have had a better impact on me, and it would have been more important to the story.

You will definitely have to read this book to find out what happens between Milly and Cameron, there is a lot of twists and turns, maybe even a love triangle, spells, and of course steamy love making.

Even though this isn’t usually the type of  book that I read, I had a wonderful time enjoying this and couldn’t put it down. 5 out of 5 stars right here!

The next book is The Royal We by Jessica Morgan and Heather Cocks. Just as I am not a huge romance book reader, I am also not a big follower of the royal couple. Although this is not a book about Will and Kate, it is a book about the Prince of Wales and his love. I was excited to read this book at first, because I had heard many adoring reviews about it, but I was let down from almost the beginning. First of all, I felt like it was written as fan fiction to Kate and Will, but I got over it about half way through and was able to see Rebecca and Nicholas as their own people, and not as quirky versions of the Prince and his lady. After I got into the book, it started taking a weird turn, it didn’t really have a point except to “break the couple up” to add drama, which was pointless to be honest, and it eventually got back around to the good stuff- the love story. I liked the fact that this book spread out over a decade of the couples story, but I wish some of it didn’t happen. You will see what I mean when you read this book (lol).

One thing that bothered me about this book was that Rebecca Porter, the main character, is supposed to be an American from Chicago. To me, she acted more like a british girl (Very few americans I know named Rebecca go by “Bex”). I think that they authors are British, so I can understand where they could get a little mixed up. She just did not talk like an American, and I think that took away some of the authenticity of the story.

I would give this book a 3 out of 5 stars. It was a predictable love story, a tad boring and over dramatic at times, but if you enjoy a little fairy tale and romance this book may be up your alley.

Heather-Cocks-Jessica-Morgan-TheRoyalWe FB

Leave a Reply

