Everything, Everything

I really can’t even explain how great this book was. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon is perfect for fans of YA novels, it is funny, emotional, and intense all in the same chapter. This story filled my heart with joy, and made my heart burst with sadness. Madeline is a teenager who has never really done anything, even leaving her house, because she has a disease that makes her allergic to pretty much anything. The only contact that she has with actual people are her mother, her nurse, and the occasional tutor. That is, until the new family next door moves in and she gets an eyeful of the teenaged boy named Olly. He takes a notice to her too, and they begin exchanging IM messages and emails, which leads to them meeting in person. The love story that follows is real, emotion, and definitely a girls true young heart being opened and explored. This is a story about a girl finding herself, finding her courage, and finding a life.

This story will leave you yearning for young love again, but it will also fill you with heartache, and there is a twist at the end that will make you sit up straighter and question what you know about yourself and the world around you.

I love the fact that Madeline is not your typical looking teenage girl that you would see in other YA novels. She is half Japanese and half black, which makes her utterly gorgeous in my mind, and to Olly as well. Although this book doesn’t really put a lot of emphasis on looks, I did have a picture of her in the beginning of the story that was completely erased by the description that they author gave of her, which makes me so happy! Diverse characters are what we need in the world of books.

This novel reads almost like a diary, with sketches, IM messages, emails and really cool artwork. I enjoyed this book, and I would LOVE to know what happens with Madeline and Olly, so maybe (crossing fingers here) there will be a sequel. If not, I would still love to read more books from this author in the future.

I received this book from http://www.netgalley.com, and I am so happy that I did. I give this 5 out of 5 stars, and a billion more for Madeline’s courage.

51N9mW2PgnL

3 thoughts on “Everything, Everything

Leave a Reply

