Book Reading Challenges

As you may know, I am obsessed with reading (Gee Kerrie, that’s weird, since you write a book review blog). One thing that I have never done though, is a reading challenge! And I am ready and willing to find one and do it, once I finish this entire stack of books….just kidding. The first book reading challenge that I am thinking about doing is the Book Riot 2015 Read Harder Challenge. Www.bookriot.com is one of my favorite sites for bookish information, and I love their youtube channel, but I’ve been staying away from the challenge, and I think it is because I get weird when people tell me what to read or when to read something, but I think that this challenge is great because A.  You don’t have to do it in any particular order and B. There are so many different things to choose from. and C. There are only 24 tasks, so it’s not TOO demanding, or scary. 24 tasks is about 2 a month, but seeing as how I am starting this in June..it may take me a while longer, or I will have to do more in a month than just 2, which is easy for me. So here is the challenge:

A book written by someone when they were under the age of 25

A book written by someone when they were over the age of 65

A collection of short stories (either by one person or an anthology by many people)

A book published by an indie press

A book by or about someone that identifies as LGBTQ

A book by a person whose gender is different from your own

A book that takes place in Asia

A book by an author from Africa

A book that is by or about someone from an indigenous culture (Native Americans, Aboriginals, etc.)

A microhistory

A YA novel

A sci-fi novel

A romance novel

A National Book Award, Man Booker Prize or Pulitzer Prize winner from the last decade

A book that is a retelling of a classic story (fairytale, Shakespearian play, classic novel, etc.)

An audiobook

A collection of poetry

A book that someone else has recommended to you

A book that was originally published in another language

A graphic novel, a graphic memoir or a collection of comics of any kind (Hi, have you met Panels?)

A book that you would consider a guilty pleasure (Read, and then realize that good entertainment is nothing to feel guilty over)

A book published before 1850

A book published this year

A self-improvement book

I am a little intimidated because there are some book categories that I am just not all that interested in, but thats the point of the challenge! Feel free to leave a comment with suggestions of books to read in these categories, or maybe you want to take the challenge with me!! Also, if you have any suggestions for other challenges that may be of interest to you or someone that reads this blog park it in the comments. I will also let you guys know about the books I choose for each category and will try and write a review for some. Thanks everyone!

One thought on “Book Reading Challenges

Leave a Reply

