Still Alice

Lisa Genova is fast becoming one of my favorite authors. This was the first book of hers that I have read, Still Alice. Since then I have read a few others that I will probably review at a later date, but this one really got me. Alice Howland is a very well known psychology professor at Harvard, where she speaks to hundreds of students a day about the importance of language. At home, her husband John is busy with work of his own, and her children are all grown and out of the house. She lives a comfortable life that is filled with laughter, and joy, even if the family doesn’t get together as often as Alice would like. One day, Alice realizes that, during her regular run, she cannot remember how to get home. That, plus the fact that she has been losing things more often than normal, makes her worry that she may have a brain tumor. She decides to visit the neurologist, who tells her she has early onset Alzheimer’s. The story that unfolds is heart breaking, full of love, loss, sadness and joy. I couldn’t put this book down. This book also hit home for me because I have a grandmother who has Alzheimer’s disease and it has been tragic watching her decline. I can only imagine how it would feel to know that you have this disease at such a young age. If you are looking for a book that will make you cry and think about life and the family around you, this is a good one to pick up.

Also, this book has been made into a movie, which was really good, and followed the story of the book pretty well. I enjoyed them both, the book gets 5 out of 5 stars from me!

51UcUARaMjL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

4 thoughts on “Still Alice

Leave a Reply

