Light On Snow

Hi everyone! There has been a sickness going through my house, so I just haven’t had the energy or desire to post a blog, but since I’ve been sick in bed for 4 days, I have had a chance to do lots of reading!

First, I read Light On Snow, which I will be reviewing now (It’s one of my favorite books!) I also read The Art of Racing in the Rain, and Conversion. Very different types of books, but I was happy with all of them. They are a bunch of books I picked up at the library last week, and I’m glad I did. Although I have a million books at home, I like to go to the library and get books instead of reading the ones I have, does anyone else do this?

Light on Snow by Anita Shreve, is a book that I read about 5 years ago, and loved, but I wanted to re-read it to get back into the story. I always remembered it, but I didn’t remember specific details that I wanted to write about. So, this book takes place in Massachusetts in the winter. Nicky and her dad moved to a quiet town after the shocking death of her mother and baby sister. The accident has made her dad a sort of recluse, who likes to create furniture for his career. One day while walking in the woods behind their home, Nicky and her dad hear a cry. First, they think it’s an animal, and then when they hear a car door slam, and more crying, they run over to stumble upon a new born baby left in the cold snow. Immediately they take the baby to the hospital, where she is cared for. Weeks go by, and they get a strange visitor to their home, the mother of the baby who was left in the snowy woods. She is sad and lonely, she never wanted to leave her baby, it was her boyfriend who told her that the baby had died. Now the cops are looking for her, and she needs a place to stay to recuperate. Nicky’s dad is on the fence about letting her stay, but eventually they form a bond that goes beyond family.

This novel is full of grief, anger and betrayal, while also making you feel the love that exists between Nicky and her dad, as well as how much they care for the new baby that was left for them to find. I really believe that you will enjoy this book, and it will create a feeling of renewal for you that is as light as snow.

14965

2 thoughts on “Light On Snow

Leave a Reply

