The Art of Racing in the Rain

First of all, I just want to say YAY AMERICA!! For making it possible and LEGAL for everyone to get married :).

Anywho, on my four day reading binge (also known as I was sick as heck), I read The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein. I have seen this book on shelves in book stores and libraries for years now, but I have never picked it up. I think I was still hanging on to Marley and Me being the only great, or tear-jerking, book about a dog, but I wish I would have picked this up sooner. It was fantastic.

What is unique about this book, is that it comes from the dog’s perspective. Enzo is a charming little mutt who is taken care of by Denny and his family. Enzo is Denny’s first love, and he treats him that way. Denny is a race car driver who leaves Enzo home quite often, so Enzo gets to watch a lot of television, and learn great things from it. Denny eventually gets married to Eve, and they have a daughter together. When Eve gets cancer, Denny and Enzo’s lives are turned upside down. There are many trials and tribulations that Denny has to go through in order to get his life back together, all while Enzo watches sadly and unable to help by his side. This book really gives you a taste of what “Mans best friend” really means, even if our pets can’t speak to us, they still know what’s going on around us, and how we feel.

One of my favorite parts of this book is when Enzo talks about passing away, he’s getting older, so he knows his time is coming. He reiterates through out the book about a documentary that he watched one day when Denny left the television on for him, and he explains that he knows dogs come back as men when their life as a dog is over, and he promises that he will come back and tell Denny that Enzo says hi. (Are you crying yet? I was). You gotta read the book to find out if he actually does, or not!

I am giving this book 5 out of 5 stars, I don’t know why I waited so long to read it. Although it was very sad, and sometimes frustrating because of the things that Denny was facing, it really showed how loyalty can move mountains and that love always prevails.

arr_pb_600x900-198x300

Leave a Reply

