Awake

I received the book Awake by Natasha Preston from http://www.netgalley.com, for early review, and let me tell you, I was not disappointed!

Scarlett is your average high schooler, until the new boy Noah comes to town. At first, you think this is a normal girl meets boy love story, but then you start to notice that maybe there is something different about Noah, but you can’t quite put your finger on it. Eventually he starts to tell the reader a little bit at a time about why he’s actually getting so close to Scarlett, and it is not what you think at all! This story unravels seamlessly, with narration from Scarlett to Noah. You get a feel for what each character is going through, how they are feeling, and their motives in the story.

This story is thrilling, scary, and even a little bit romantic. You watch the love between Scarlett and Noah build, and then you see it being torn down by Noah’s secret. I was gripping my kindle at one point, because I was terrified for Scarlett, praying that she be alright. What I loved about it, is that it keeps you guessing, and it doesn’t give away the real terrifying reason that Noah is in town, until you are yearning to know the answer. I am not going to give it away here, because I really think that this is a book that you should pick up and read yourself. It is a Young Adult novel, and it is set around high school students, but it is worth the read. This book is by the author who wrote The Cellar which I have not read, but after this book I think I may check it out.

I give this book 5 out of 5 stars, and a big huge THANK YOU to netgalley.com and the publisher for letting me read it early :).

22881022

2 thoughts on “Awake

Leave a Reply

