I’m Not Her

I just want to say thank you again for the 50 followers, I know that may not seem like a lot to some people, but to me it feels like a million! This weekend I was super busy, but I also got the chance to hunker down with a couple of great novels. This one was one of my favorites, and I have been itching to write this review since I finished it. The book is called I’m Not Her by Cara Sue Achterberg. I am pretty sure you will be hearing a lot about this novel, and this author in the upcoming future.

A close encounter with a Valentine’s Day display at the supermarket takes Carin (pronounced Car-in, not Karen) Fletcher, from her life as college graduated, thin and pretty insurance saleswoman, and switches her with the not so glamorous, overweight and poor Leanne Cane, who just happens to be the cashier at the store.

At first Carin is confused as to why she is suddenly in this new, and hefty, body. She tries to think of ways to get people to understand that she’s not Leanne, she’s Carin, who is sitting in the hospital bed with bandages wrapped around her head. She even goes as far as to visit her old body in the hospital, but the person inside of her body (Leanne), pretends that she has no idea what is going on, and fakes amnesia. So, Carin (as Leanne) is forced to go to Leanne’s very squat and sad apartment to sort out what she needs to do next. What she doesn’t realize, is that Leanne has a son, and a not so nice husband, who she needs to care for on her measly supermarket check.

On the other side of town Leanne (as Carin), is excited that she finally has a nice skinny body, no responsibilities, and moolah up the wazoo (thanks to a lawsuit settlement from the supermarket). She knows she’s not really Carin, but she can’t help but what to relish in the attention and the abundance of food and cash. So when Carin (as Leanne) tries to contact her dozens of times, she tells her to go away. Eventually though, she starts to miss her son, and she realizes that this life isn’t as luxurious as it seemed at the beginning. She’s lonely, and wants her son to miss her, even though he doesn’t realize she’s gone.

This book had me laughing at some points, and it had me wiping away tears at others. Not only is this book a good example of the grass isn’t always greener on the other side, but also that you should look into yourself, and realize that sometimes you aren’t always as perfect as you seem. Carin gets a good dose of this when she is walking around as Leanne, she realizes that she isn’t as nice to people as she should be, and that even if someone isn’t skinny, or pretty, it doesn’t mean that they don’t have feelings too. Leanne, as Carin, realizes that money and looks don’t really equate to happiness, but family does.

I loved this novel, it had me thinking a lot about what I would do in a situation like this (freak out first), and how I would miss the people that I have in my life. Sometimes we don’t realize how good we have it, until it’s gone. This novel is a good example of taking life for granted, and what you would or wouldn’t do to get it back.

I am so excited I was able to read this book, thank you to http://www.netgalley.com for the opportunity to peruse it before it’s release date! I give this one 5 out of 5, pick it up as soon as it comes out!

im not her

Leave a Reply

