Last Ten Books That Came into My Possession

First of all, I just wanna say thank you to mylittlebookblog for this idea, and for letting me steal it! The last ten books that came into my possession, whether that be through purchasing the books, borrowing them from the library, or even advanced reader copies are:

1. Before I Go by Colleen Oakley

I purchased this one on my kindle a while ago, because I had heard a lot of good things about it, and this is what I am currently reading. So far it is haunting and sad, but also has a very sweet plot. I will probably be writing a review about it with-in the next couple of days. It is a very good book!

51U7MkKBvIL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

2. This Raging Light by Estelle Laure

I received this one from net galley, it’s a young adult novel by an author that I have never read anything from before. I am excited to read this one, because it seems to be about finding love at the wrong time, which is pretty typical for our generation isn’t it?

23208417

3. Dream A Little Dream by Giovanna Fletcher

I got this one from net galley as well, and I am excited to read this one because it is like a modern fairy tale love story, which is one of  my guilty pleasure reads. I am obsessed with all things Disney and Disney princesses, so whenever I get to read a modern fairy tale it always brings me back to that place in my mind. This is also from an author that I have never read before, there seems to be a theme here!

dreamgi

4. Crooked Little Lies by Barbara Taylor Sissel

I got this one for free on my kindle, because we have amazon prime. It was one of the “Kindle Firsts” that I am obsessed with, and will usually get a free book every month. This book seems to be a little bit suspenseful and mysterious, and I love those kinds of stories.

41ASCElqZ1L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

5. Bag of Bones by Stephen King

This was technically a book that I already owned, but when I moved from my mom’s house, I left it there. So it came back into my possession while going through some things at her house. I read this book a long time ago, but I plan on reading it again soon. I purchased it from a used book store many years ago.

220px-Bagofbones

6. The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes

I borrowed this one from the library a couple of weeks ago, and I was planning on taking it on vacation with me. That never happened, so when we got home I finally got to read it. It is a pretty creepy book, that makes you think, and gives you the heeby-jeebys at the same time.

41cAGulBwqL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_

7. Shutter by Courtney Alameda

This is another book that I got from the library at the same time as number 6. This is a young adult novel that is also pretty creepy, I must have been in a scary book kind of mood when I picked these out. I wasn’t a huge fan of this book, but none the less, I recently borrowed it from the library.

20757532

8. Flesh and Blood by Patricia Cornwell

I won this one from Book Riot. Like I stated in another post, I have never read Patricia Cornwell novels before, and I actually am not very up to date on crime novels/mystery novels like this. I am willing to read the series though, I can’t pass up a free book!

51dOm0iACuL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

10. The Well by Catherine Chanter

My library has a summer program where you put your name into a box with the book that you read, and a little review of it, every week a name gets drawn and you win a free book. This is the one that I picked. I like off the wall, weird, and dark books. This seemed to fit that criteria, and I had never heard of it before so I thought I would give it a shot.

51l3t+2gbKL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

So there are my 10 books that I have recently acquired. As you can see, I don’t purchase a lot of books, and there are a few reasons for that. First of all, I am a stay at home mom- which means we have one income. Disposable income isn’t something that we have a lot of, so free books are the way to go. Plus, I have found many websites that I can get free books from, plus there is the library!- so why spend 20 bucks on something when you can read it for free! A couple other reasons for this are that I am not a re-reader. So if I get a book, it will sit on my shelf until I read it, and then go back on the shelf indefinitely, or until I give it away. Also, it is sometimes easier for me to read on my kindle (though I prefer an actual physical book), and sometimes the kindle prices are just ridiculous. Either way, I love to read and I will acquire books any way that I can!

Now that you’ve seen my last ten books, what would your list look like?

Leave a Reply

