I Was a Teenage Ghost Hunter

I was connected with an up and coming author through Twitter. His name is Brian Henry, and he seems like a pretty awesome dude. He introduced me to his science fiction/fantasy novel I Was a Teenage Ghost Hunter, which I was more than excited to read because I absolutely love the paranormal. I used to love watching shows like Ghost Hunters, and I am especially a fan of the 80’s classic movie Ghostbusters!! This type of book was right up my alley, and I can say that I was not at all disappointed. This book was hilarious, as well as scary with a lot of depth and creativity all rolled into one.

This story starts out with Devin, who is a low-key average teenager, except for the fact that he can see spirits. His friends start to notice that his ability, or his blanking out episodes, have started causing Devin problems at school and at work. These spectral encounters, as Devin calls them, keep him up all hours of the night, but he doesn’t want his friends and everyone else to peg him as the next Sixth Sense kid. He ignores the pleas from his friends to do something about the manifestations that keep from living a normal life. Until a group of kids gets freaked out by an old abandoned haunted house, and a lot of pushing from a girl at Devin’s school, reluctant Devin and his friends decide that maybe it’s time to use his visions for good and see what is really going on in the old manor. They bust out the electromagnetic field meters and the night vision goggles and start the ghost hunting.

The freaky things going on in the manor are more than the teens bargained for, and eventually the scary spirit seeps into Devin’s dreams. Between trying to live his life as a normal teenager, and trying to figure out the meaning behind the haunting, Devin’s plate is full. The spooky twists and turns in this book will keep you turning the pages, it just keeps getting better and better. I could not put this book down.

I felt nostalgia while reading this book, because it felt a lot like Ghostbusters to me. That is one of my all time favorite movies, and part of the reason why I was so interested in reading this book. Although this is not the typical type of book that I go for, I was not let down one bit. Not only was this book freaky, but it was making me laugh the whole time. I give this 5 out of 5 stars, and I really think the author is going places if he keeps up this type of work!

8401538-368-k453969

One thought on “I Was a Teenage Ghost Hunter

Leave a Reply

