Before I Go

Okay, first off, let me say that I was not prepared for the emotions that came with this book, it stirred up something inside me that still hasn’t gone away, and I read this book a couple of days ago. Before I Go, by Colleen Oakley is a novel that will resonate with you for a while. I have read books about cancer before, and I have had family members who have had cancer, but this is the first time that I’ve read about a first hand account with cancer that is so real, and this is the first time that I have read a book about a woman who is so terrifyingly close to death. Death has always scared me, so at times I had to set this book down, because the fear and pain that the main character, Daisy, feels in this book was almost too much for me to handle. Although, this book is about having cancer, it is also about love, relationships and the hope that your loved ones you leave behind will heal and find love again.

Daisy learns that after four years of being cancer free, that her cancer has returned, and it has returned in a big way. Her doctors give her four to six months to live. After much grieving, wallowing and depression, Daisy decides that she needs to get out there and find love. A love that is not for herself, but for her husband, Jack. She wants to find him someone to marry after she is gone. Daisy searches the internet, coffee shops, and even a dog park to find the woman of Jack’s dreams. Her determination comes to a halt, when she realizes that maybe it’s not the best idea to find someone for Jack to love when she’s gone, maybe it’s best to let him love her while she’s still around.

Although this book was very emotionally charged, I did not like the ending. I felt like it was rushed, and I also felt that there was no closure. After all of the tense, serious feelings that I had during the entire book, this was a major let down. I do still recommend that you read this book, because of the amount of despair, love, happiness and inspiration that the novel will bring you. I give this one 4 out of 5 stars, just because the ending was lacking.

51U7MkKBvIL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

One thought on “Before I Go

Leave a Reply

