Cage of Stars

I picked up Cage of Stars by Jacquelyn Mitchard from the library after I heard about it from a video on Book Riot’s youtube channel. I thought it sounded like an interesting concept, and I was not disappointed. I read this book in like 2 days, and I kept stopping to tell my husband what was going on in the book. I am sure he was very appreciative of that…

This book revolves around the Swan family, who are Mormon’s that live in Utah. First of all, I want to say that this book opened my eyes to what it means to be Mormon, because I had a lot of misconceptions about the faith, which are brought up a lot in the book. First, they are not into polygamy, and they are just regular people with beliefs like any other religion. I thought that was a nice touch, the author made the main character, Ronnie, a very average teen aged girl, which I thought was a very wonderful idea.

Tragedy strikes one summer as Ronnie is babysitting her little sisters, when they decide to take up a game of hide and seek, Ronnie waits for them in the shed. The thing is, they never show up. When she gets tired of waiting she leaves the shed, and what she sees is a nightmare that will haunt her for the rest of her life. Her two little sisters have been brutally murdered by some random man, who is still in her yard. She runs in to the house to call for help, and when the neighbor and police arrive, the man is arrested and her sisters are taken away.

This story deals with Ronnie’s struggle to understand why her sisters have been taken from her, as well as the hole that it leaves on her parent’s hearts. Her mother goes through a deep depression, and her dad tries to make every one else feel better. The book spans the course of five or so years, and you can see the pain and the growth that Ronnie goes through. She also struggles with the idea of redemption. She wants to get redemption for her sisters brutal murders, she wants the killer to know what it feels like to die. In the novel, you see her wrestling with the idea of killing the man who killed her sisters, and if she is willing to pay the ultimate price for her sisters names.

I loved this book, and I really liked that it wasn’t super long, but yet it was packed full of information that really pulled the story together. I give this one 5 out of 5 as well, and I also have more of this authors books on my shelves that I didn’t realize before. So I may have to start reading more of her novels!

228128

2 thoughts on “Cage of Stars

  1. One of my favorite authors, Orson Scott Card, is a Mormon. I have several Mormon relatives and was once asked to pastor a (non-Mormon) church in Utah. Re. Polygamy: Mainstream Mormons don’t practice it now (though splinter groups and scattered individuals do), but it’s very much a part of their history: their founder-prophet Joseph Smith had 40 wives, and his successor Brigham Young had 55.

    Like

    1. Very interesting. Yea I didn’t realize that they didn’t have multiple wives, I guess it’s just one of those things you hear and you just assume it. This book did teach me quite a bit about the religion. I thought it was very good.

      Like

Leave a Reply

