One of the Few

This is not the typical type of book that I read, but I was contacted by the author of One of the Few Jason B. Ladd, who asked if I would review his book. I am glad that I did, this book lifted my spirits, and it helped me understand that although we struggle in life, relying on God to help us is perfectly acceptable, and that even though we may not always have that positive attitude toward God, He has our back. The book is not coming out until later this  year, but I really think that you will want to pick it up. One of the things that I like about this book, is that it is a mixture between one man’s life, as well as his connection with God, that grew through out his life. He was not born thinking that we all go to Heaven when we die, and it took him a while, and through many serious and very scary circumstances to understand that we do. If you are a person who is looking to read something that speaks about God and Christian views in the world, than this book is for you. I am a spiritual person, but I do not consider myself religious. So, reading this book was a very real eye opener for me. It explained all the different ways that people can believe, whether it is in one God (monotheism) or no God (atheism), and all of the things in between. The journey that this man took, from being a marine fighter pilot, to being a husband and father, to a man of faith is a really inspirational story that I think will open your eyes if you are willing to see. I plan on getting a copy of this when it comes out ( I hope it’s coming in paperback?) It was really nice to read a book that was surrounded by faith, and even though he went through some really scary situations (At the beginning, he talks of his unborn child who had a very serious developmental issue), he overcame them and turned toward God to help guide him through his life. I feel like there was a reason that I read this book, because I tend to struggle with the concept of Heaven, God, etc. So, this helped to solidify my beliefs. Thank you Jason for letting me read this book 🙂 I give this one 5 out of 5, it really pulls at the heart strings, and it also teaches something valuable.


The author also answered some questions for me, which is becoming one of my favorite things to do now. I just wish I could talk to all these authors in person, that would make it even better!

Kerrie: Is this the first book that you have ever written?

Jason: Yes. It started as a “writing project” at first. I wanted to record the story of how I came to faith for my kids to read one day. But then I soon realized the story could be helpful to others as well. That’s when I stopped writing for myself, and began writing for the reader.

K: What are your ambitions for your writing career?

J: There are so many life-changing experiences out there. Those are the coolest stories. At this point, I just want to tell mine. If it develops into a career, I’m willing to embrace that.

Kerrie: If your book was to become a movie, who would you want to play the lead characters?

J: Can I play myself? No, that won’t work because my wife would have to play herself, and she’ll never go for that. We’ll have to get the second most beautiful woman in the world. For guys, I don’t know. He’s got to be able to pull off a buzz cut. I’m open to suggestions. Readers and casting directors can send suggestions here: http://www.jasonbladd.com/contact/

K: What do you do when you are not writing a book?

J: That’s an easy question when you are in the pre-launch phase of a book. You’re prepping for the launch! But I think you mean on my off-time. I have a wife I adore and five kids that want to play. So I play.

K: What does an average day in your life look like?

J: It begins waking up with 8 hours of sleep if at all possible. That gets me about 30 minutes of vivid, crazy dreams right before waking up. 7 hours, no dreams, and I’m tired. Average is hard to say. This has been a year of transition: leaving active-duty, moving, looking for a new job, writing for several blogs, and launching a book. Up at 7:00 a.m., in bed by 10:00 p.m. (nothing good ever happens after 10:00). Let’s just say there’s no down time.

K: Do you have plans to write more, and if so will it be in this genre or will you spread your wings?

J: I love how you worked in wings here. I have two more books in the works. My second book will be about handling life’s most difficult circumstances and will be written around our recent experience losing our son. He had a chromosomal anomaly called Trisomy 18, or “Edwards Syndrome.” He died on the day he was born. I also have a dystopian fiction lined up after that. All that to say, I plan on writing a lot.

K: If you could sit down and talk to one author, who would it be and why?

J: Steven Pressfield. He’s a Marine and written some amazing stuff. I’d love to pick his brain and take a look at the path he has walked. Or Malcolm Gladwell, just to watch his brain work in real time.

K: Who designed the cover of the book?

J: I blindly went with a website called 99designs.com. They have several packages, and I didn’t go with the cheapest, but it was well worth it. Artists compete against each other for a cash award. The website functionality was very easy to use. You can provide lots of feedback throughout the entire process, until the product is just right. I provided some of the images and gave overall direction. I’m very happy with the results, and found several artists I would work with again.

K: What is your favorite book? And what are you reading now?

J: Hard to say, but I’ll answer a few that are genre specific. Gates of Fire by Steven Pressfield was an amazing piece of historical fiction. Marines love it because of the similarities we have to the Spartans as far as our function as part of the culture. In the Christian non-fiction genre I Don’t Have Enough Faith To Be An Atheist by Normal Geisler and Frank Turek really challenged a lot of assumptions I had about Christianity, which turned out to be false.

K: How can readers discover more about you and your work?

J: Readers can find out about my book and my blog at http://www.jasonbladd.com

b99aad35-f8d1-468e-b05f-a2471d97956c.jpg.370x755_q80

2 thoughts on “One of the Few

Leave a Reply

