My 10 Favorite Genre Benders

We all love to read certain genres, and sometimes we find pretty awesome books that mix genres, or styles, so that we get some cool creative novels that expand our minds and our reading lists! Some of my favorites are :

American Gods by Neil Gaiman

american-gods

Neil Gaiman is awesome because he created Coraline, but he’s also awesome because he knows how to write really great stories and create different worlds out of two different genres. American Gods takes adventure and mixes it with mythological creates to create a really creepy story that lingers with you even after you’ve finished reading it.

Zone One by Colson Whitehead

10365343

The is a zombie novel, but it’s also much more. I Love the story that is told in Colson Whitehead’s Zone One. It’s not your typical zombie book.

House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski

House_of_leaves

This is a horror novel, it is probably the scariest book that’s out right now. It’s also a story with in a story, with in a story, it’s romantic, and it’s terrifying all wrapped up in one.

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

14050

This is one of my all time favorite books, (And one of my all time favorite movies, but the book is still better). It mixes time travel with a really amazing and crazy beautiful love story, that bends time and age. It’s fantastic, if you haven’t read it, go get it NOW.

11/22/63 by Stephen King

11-22-63

If you follow my blog, then you know this book is my favorite book in the entire world. This is because it’s a time travel book, a political book, a crime novel, fantasy book and a thriller wrapped up in 800 some odd pages. This book give me chills.

The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes

41cAGulBwqL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_

I picked this one up at the library a couple of weeks ago, and it’s amazing. It’s about a time traveling serial killer. (Okay, clearly I have a thing about time travel).

Life After Life by Kate Atkinson

74fc56f6af1bdd40bf2be1df35e2d979

The first time I tried to read this book I had to put it down, and I picked it up later on. This book is about Ursula, who lives her life again and again. It’s romantic, it’s fantasy, it’s beautiful.

Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

6202342

Yes, this is the same author of The Time Traveler’s Wife, what can I say, she’s good at what she does. This story is about twins, whose aunt passes away and leaves them her home. The story is about love, sisterhood and secrets. It’s really good.

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

1422420695587

I would say this one is genre bending because it’s not just an apocalyptic novel, it’s also about love, friendship, people and survival. People from all walks of live are trying to rebuild their world after the collapse of modern society. It’s not a zombie book, but it is a fantastic read.

The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

Lovely_Bones_cover

This book is a little bit older (and it’s also a movie!), but I still think it’s one of the best genre benders out there. It’s a little bit Young Adult, a little bit science fiction, thriller, mystery and much more.


We all have a different idea of what “genre bending” can mean, so please take my definition loosely, to me it means anything that is not structured like your typical book of it’s type. I hope you enjoy my list, and please post any other suggestions you may have, I would love to read them!

17 thoughts on “My 10 Favorite Genre Benders

  1. I loved reading The Lovely Bones, and I bought The Time Traveller’s Wife aaaaages ago but I haven’t had chance to read it yet! This post really made me want to!

    Like

Leave a Reply

