7 Secrets to an Awesome Marriage

Sometimes I receive self-help books to review, which I love, especially if they pertain to my life. I love parenting books/potty training books, and marriage books. These are all things that I relate to, and things that I am going through at the moment. I was excited to receive 7 Secrets to an Awesome Marriage by Kim Kimberling, PhD, because I am a sort of newly wed. We’ve been married for a little over 2 years, and let me tell you, marriage is work! Especially when you have children. I liked that this book was a positive take on self-help for marriage, instead of making it seem like your marriage is in trouble and you need to fix it.

I like that the secrets are just basic rules that you should follow in your marriage, such as take time to be with each other, learn from your own mistakes and try to fix them before you try to fix your spouse, learn how to fight “right” and much more.

I also enjoyed the fact that this was a Christian based book, but the author explained that you don’t have to view it that way if you don’t want to. I myself am a spiritual person, not religious, so I definitely took those Christian views to heart, and I can apply them, or not, as I see fit.

This was also a pretty thin book, which made it a simple read, and you can also go back and read chapters that pertain to your life at that moment. Another thing that I enjoyed about it, was that it had examples of other couples problems, and how they fixed it, so that you can see it can work out.

One thing that this book teaches you, is that you must work toward an awesome marriage, it is not just going to happen over night. These tools will definitely help you on your road to an amazing marriage!

For a self-help book, I really enjoyed this one. It was easy to read and not stuffy, or boring by any means. For that, I am going to give this book 5 out of 5 stars.

I received this book from Booklook Bloggers.

41IBDo7lMfL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

One thought on “7 Secrets to an Awesome Marriage

Leave a Reply

