Flashback Favorites Week- Speak

Hello fellow book lovers! This week I am going to talk about some of my favorite books, the reason for that is- I’m kind of in a book slump right now, and I need to take a little break from reading…so for my first flashback favorites book review, I want to express my love for a little book called Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson. I first read this book when I was in high school, and I fell in love with it. I think it was one of the first books that I read that had a very serious plot. I’ve probably read it 2 or 3 times since then, and also I’ve watched the movie with Kristen Stewart probably a hand full of times as well.

Speak follows the story of Melinda Sordino, who starts her freshman year of high school feeling very self conscious, depressed, and weighed down with a huge secret  that she cannot tell a soul. Unfortunately her secret follows her around, because her secret is a boy, Andy, who hurt her at a party, and she has to face him at school for the rest of her high school career. The only real escape that Melinda has, is her art class. She absolutely loves it, as most of her friends have alienated her, she has to release her emotions somewhere.

When Melinda’s former best friend becomes the apple of Andy’s eye, she has to choose to speak up and tell her ex-friend that Andy isn’t what he seems.

This story is emotionally charged. You can really feel the pain that Melinda feels the entire school year, as she comes to grips with what happened to her, and for the entire book you are just pushing for her to step out of her shell and tell someone, or do something, to face the what had happened to her at the party before freshman year.

The reason that I loved this book so much, was because at the age I was, probably 15 or 16, I really felt that insecurity of Melinda, and I felt for her. I had never been in a situation like hers, but when you feel vulnerable, you are able to reach those emotions and it really makes you think about what you would do in situations like that. Also, I think that this book opened up a whole new way to talk about rape, and sexual situations that girls may not have felt comfortable talking about before this book came out.

This book gets 5 out of 5 stars for me, I absolutely love this book.

Speak_1st_Edition_Cover

One thought on “Flashback Favorites Week- Speak

Leave a Reply

