Best Ways to Get ARC Books

Good Morning Loves 🙂

Today I want to talk about different ways to get Advanced Reader Copies, so that you can review books (usually) for free, and not only that, but you can help authors by featuring those books on your blog! I will also explain other ways to receive books that may be a little bit different.

Advanced Reader Copies are free books that the publisher, author, or other site may give out in the hopes that you will post a review on your website, Amazon, Good Reads or any other retailer site.


header-logo-2015

One of my favorite sites, that I have talked about before, is The Reading Room. Every single month, the site puts up new books to request, you may not always win, but if you request every month, there is a more likely chance that you WILL receive a free book. I generally request all the books that I am interested in, in hopes of receiving a free copy, usually I do not win, but I at least win one a month.

So far I have probably gotten ten ARC books from The Reading Room. They always have very interesting, and popular books/authors on their ARC giveaways page. I also enjoy the fact that they will sometimes post the same books, in case you didn’t win last month-you can request the book again.

I also like the fact that you can post your reviews directly on this site, so that you can get more exposure for the book and yourself.


logo4_medium

Another site that I have used in order to try and win ARC books is Library Thing. I must say that I have never won a book from here, but I always try every single month to win. I haven’t used this site as much as I used The Reading Room, and that’s only because I generally forget to check it out. Now that I get e-mail notifications of when new books are added, I check it out more often. I enjoy this because they do not put a limit on how many books you can request. Also, they have e-books to win, as well as hard copy books.

I also like the fact that you can add books to you bookshelf, just like Good Reads or The Reading Room. It’s a really easy way to keep track of what you have read, if you so choose.


BookLook Logo With HC

This next site, you have to prove that you are a blogger, and that you get enough traffic in order to receive books. The reason behind this, is so that the publisher knows you will be able to promote the books enough, and that you will post reviews instead of just holding the books. This is a Christian publisher, but I have gotten some books that are not faith based- they also have children’s books (love this for my son!), e-books, and hard copies.

When you sign up for this site, you are only allowed to have one or two books at a time, and once you review those books, you can then go and request more. So, as long as the site has enough copies of the book that you want- you will receive the book. I have gotten about three or four books from this site, they arrive pretty quickly, which is nice. They also give you about two months to read and review the book.


Another site for bloggers that I really like is Blogging for Books

blogging_for_books_lockup_1a

The last couple of books that I have received from this site have been amazing! Check out: Hyacinth GirlsThe Book of Strange New Things and The Gracekeepers. All three came from Blogging for Books, and it only took them a couple of days to be sent straight to my door. This is another site that only lets you receive books if you are a blogger, and have plenty of followers and page views a month. Also, you can only receive one book at a time, but they come so quickly that it’s like you are checking out library books with out leaving your home! (And you don’t have to send them back).

All you have to do is write a review, as well as post a review on your blog and you can get a new book sent to your home. It’s great, easy and best of all, free.


Print

If you are looking for a place to get free e-books, look no further then NetGalley. You have probably noticed many of my reviews come from books I got from this site, I love it so much. I especially love the fact that you can get connected with publishers and authors through this site. Even, sometimes, publishers will contact me through email asking me to look at other books, or giving me the ability to browse their catalog to review books of my choice. It’s really great to be able to connect with many people through this site.

Most of the books that are on this site need approval before you can read them, but usually if you have all the information filled out on your profile you will get the chance to read many books. I love this site, and I have been able to find books from popular authors on it, plus books from new and up and coming authors.


fa4d0a71c0d3358a94c25e99f7bc4299

Besides websites that are specifically for reviewing and reading ARC books, it may also be wise to contact the publisher of the books that you are interested in. Some of the publishers will send you free copies of books just for asking, in hopes that you will post a review of the book on your website, and also on a retail website. If you look on the back of a book that you like, or sometimes on the inside cover, you can find the publishing company. Find their website, look up the “publicity” department email, and send them a request to receive free copies of books.

Sometimes they are not going to give you a book right away, or send you a book just because you asked. You should always greet the publisher, and respectfully email them your request. Explain who you are, what you do, how many followers and page views you get on your blog. Then, explain that you wish to receive books from their publishing company, the more specific you are the better. They don’t have much time to diddle-daddle around trying to pick out a book that you might like. So, if you know there are books in their catalog that you would like to receive, ask for those specifically. They sometimes may send them, or they may not. This is not going to be a guarantee, it’s just something to try. If you do not succeed with one publishing company, try another.

Sometimes publishers have specific lists for bloggers, and they will send out emails every month with new books that you can download or request. This is also a great way to get new books, and if you get an email back saying that you have been put on a list, feel special!


Another suggestion is to follow your favorite authors, publishers, and any other book dealers on social media such as Twitter, and Facebook. Sometimes they do give aways, and that way you can try your chance at winning a new book.

One of my favorite things to do, is to talk to authors and publishers on Twitter or e-mail, build up a repertoire with them. Once you review a book that they have written, tell them, they will soon see you as a good source to go to when they have a new book coming out. Or, if you find people on Twitter or Facebook that are new authors, or indie authors, contact them. Let them know that you are interested in reading their books, the worst thing they can say is “no”. Put yourself out there, let people know you are interested in reading what they have to offer. Most of the time, people will send you their books in hopes of a good review.


I hope this post helps out anyone who is interested in learning more about ARC’s and finding new material to read. Let me know if you are a part of any sites that I haven’t written about on here, I would love to hear about them.

19 thoughts on “Best Ways to Get ARC Books

    1. I simply post my honest opinion about it. I really feel like it doesn’t help the author or future readers to lie about your feelings on the book. If you don’t like it, it’s okay. Sometimes certain books aren’t for everyone. Like the post I did about the book Never Said, I posted about it honestly. Of course you want to be respectful, but truth is the best policy.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for that. I am a pretty honest person so it would really go against my beliefs to be dishonest in a review. But if you have been speaking to an author before you decided to review their book and then you turn out to not like it … its a tough position to be in :/ Thanks for your response 🙂

        Like

      2. I totally agree. It’s happened to me before, the author really wants an honest review, and although their feelings may be a little hurt, it’s better to help them than to hinder their creativity. They know that not everyone is going to share their point of view, and to be completely honest if they can’t handle a bad review then they might not be ready for the public to view their work. I know that sounds harsh, and I don’t mean to be rude but it’s true.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I know this post is written for book bloggers, but it is also helpful to me as a “hybrid” author: you’ve given me some excellent advice on where to submit my books for reviews. I know NetGalley is one of the best, but they put indie authors in another slot away from the traditionally published books – which is a shame.
    Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

