My Favorite Memoirs

In another edition of my favorite things, I want to talk about memoirs. I have been reading memoirs for years, at one point during my teen years, it seemed that memoirs were all that I read. I just enjoyed getting a peak into someone else life, and sometimes I feel that they are more interesting than a biography, because they are typically a first person account. Memoirs are also interesting to me, because they don’t have to be written by a celebrity, or spokesperson- it can be from the life of your average person. Take a peak at my ten favorites, and let me know if you have read any of these, or if you would suggest any others :).


Smashed by Koren Zailckas

0154_Smashed_D

I read this one as a teenager, and I think it really helped me to not want to drink for a long time. Koren drank from the age of 14-college, sometimes having to have her stomach pumped. After many years of drunken nights, she finally sees what she has done to herself over the years, and she sobers up.

Beyond Belief by Jenna Miscavige Hill

beyond-belief-book

I’ve always been interested in different religions, or “cults” if you will, and scientology is one that baffles me. This is a look inside scientology from the niece of the foundations leader. It is a very eye opening book.

Look Me in the Eye by John Elder Robison

Look_Me_in_the_Eye_(book_cover)

This is about a mans life growing up with Aspergers, and how he came to cope with his diagnosis. I liked this book because I had just found out my nephew was diagnosed with Autism at the time, so it made me understand a little bit more what he was going to have to face growing up.

A Child Called “It” by Dave Pelzer

and the other memoirs in this series

22660

This is just a heartbreaking story. If you have not read this, you really should. It is hard to read at times, but the courage that comes from it is unbelievable and inspirational.

Official Book Club Selection by Kathy Griffin

9780345518514_500X500

This lady cracks me up, her story is filled with laughs and some embarrassing, cringe worthy, moments. I enjoyed this read immensely.

The Color of Rain by Michael and Gina Spehn

41Bzw7ODW8L

This is a really gripping memoir about two families coming together after the loss of their spouses, how they were able to find love again, and the hope that this family has now is incredible.

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot

The_Immortal_Life_Henrietta_Lacks_(cover)

I read this for school (Psychology major here), and I was amazed at the impact this woman has made on science, and she doesn’t even know it. Doctors too her cells with out asking her, and after her children find out many years later, they want to know what their rights are.

Heaven Is For Real by Todd Burpo

Heaven_Is_for_Real_(Burpo_book)_cover

This is a sweet little story about an adorable little boy who got sick, died and saw Jesus, then came back to tell about it.


Well, I hope you guys enjoyed my little list of memoirs. I enjoy reading different types of memoirs, so feel free to leave some suggestions in the comments!

One thought on “My Favorite Memoirs

Leave a Reply

