Barbara The Slut and Other People

9781594633782_custom-4a08b2fc27e0ba5cb4da28ebab68a41e14702f47-s200-c85

I am not really the type of person that gets into books of short stories. I much prefer longer more detailed works of fiction, but when I saw this book was available on Netgalley I had to request it. I’ve heard much praise about this book, Barbara the Slut and Other People by Lauren Holmes from one of my favorite book sites Book Riot, to who I owe a lot of my TBR list to. Anyway, this book takes a funny, raunchy look at sex, and creates stories that don’t shame women into believing that sex is bad, or that it’s not okay to want to have sex.

Most of the time I felt like Amy Shumer was narrating these stories, or these were stories that she would tell in her stand up routine. I loved these stories, I thought that they were in ways empowering. Gone are the days where women should feel shame for wanting to have sex, here come the days that women rejoice in their own pleasure (responsibly of course!).

For a book of short stories, this was one of the better ones. I enjoyed the laid back atmosphere of it. For example, a high schooler who finds “slut” written on her locker doesn’t cry and run to the bathroom, she smiles because she likes the color of the spray paint. This is a book that is to be read with a smirk on your face, I loved it. I give this 5 out of 5 stars, and I may reconsider my stance on short stories!

Let’s not forget about the cover, I love this cover, it really pops. It also goes along with one of the stories, so you can’t go wrong with that. Again, I recommend this book to anyone who wants to laugh and have a laid back good time while they read about sluts and other people.

One thought on “Barbara The Slut and Other People

Leave a Reply

