Armada

18657656._UY200_

This book was about 50% better than what I thought it was going to be! I absolutely loved it. There were aspects of this book that I feel could have been left out, but I will let you figure that out on your own when you read it. Armada by Ernest Cline is kind of hard to review with out giving it all away, but what starts out as an ordinary day in math class for Zack Lightman turns into the quest of a lifetime, he must figure out a way to save the Earth from alien intruders.

There are a few different reasons that I really enjoyed this book, first of all, I really like science fiction- I love when people are put into extraordinary situations, where it’s pretty much impossible and they have to figure out either how to get themselves out of it, or find ways to deal with their new life. That’s what happens to Zack in this book. He’s just trying to live his life, finish high school, and work at a video game store. He lives at home with his mom. His dad died when he was a baby in a factory accident, and the only way he can get close to his dad anymore is to rummage through the boxes of his old stuff in the attic. When he realizes that his dad’s old notebooks filled with a conspiracy theory are actually true, and not just ramblings from a high school in the 80’s, Zack thinks he may be going crazy. When you read this book, you will be feeling those feelings right along with Zack, in a good way of course.

You know the boy that was in the main character in the movie Kickass? His name is Aaron Johnson, and although he is a little to old for this role now, I kept picturing him as Zack. I doubt he will ever be cast in he role when it becomes a movie. And yes, I checked Armada is becoming a movie! It’s just who I kept picturing the entire time reading this book.

If you like science fiction, classic sci fi movies, out of this world plots, and ordinary people being put into extraordinary situations, this is the book for you. Plus, the inside cover of this book is really cool. This book was definitely one I will remember for quite some time, I give it 5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

