My Christmas Stocking

5122oAP+tuL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

Here is another adorable book from my kids book collection! I received this one from Booklook Bloggers, and I picked this book because we in our house get started on all things Christmas super early, apparently. My son has taken it upon himself to watch every single Mickey Christmas movie on Netflix the past month, so I thought that this would be another fun Christmas themed thing for him to see. My Christmas Stocking (Filled With God’s Love) by Crystal Bowman is a board book in a series of other shaped books.

This book is really sweet, with rhymes and colorful pictures. It also tells the story of St. Nicholas, and how the Christmas stocking came to be. Though, I feel like it’s a little bit cheesy, I still thought it was cute and fun to read. This is a story that we can share year after year, and we will always have fun pointing out the different items in each picture.

This story is also a good conversation starter about God and doing good deeds for other people. I feel like if my son was a little bit older, this would be a good time to talk to him about the meaning of Christmas, and also that giving is better than receiving. He’s still too young for all that, but this book will really open those doors when he gets older.

Overall, I thought this book was cute, but it’s not the best Christmas book I’ve ever read. I felt that it left a little too much out, and it danced around topics. The pictures were adorable, and the rhymes were nice. I give this book a 4 out of 5, and I will definitely be reading this again, this year and for years to come.

Leave a Reply

