Off The Bookcase

offthebookcase

Hi Guys!! As you may have noticed, I spend much of my time reading e-galley, ARC, and library books. I’ve stated before that I have a hard time reading books from my own shelves because I get nervous that I will run out of books (this is never going to happen). It’s just one of those strange irrational fears that I need to get over.

In order to sort of combat the fact that my fear is both unnecessary and a little bit strange, I wanted to make a new segment for my blog called “Off The Bookcase”. Where I pick a random book, or books (usually I’m thinking of doing 2), that’s been sitting on my shelf for some time. I will finally read it and review it.

The cool thing about this segment is that there are going to be some rules. These rules are:

I must have purchased the book myself, or the book must have been purchased for me. (This means NO free books, or ARC copies of books).

The book must have been on the bookshelf for some time, and not just put there so that I can read it. I must add that I have more than one bookcase, so any of them are up for grabs. 

I am just really hoping that this segment will get rid of my fear of losing my books, but also to crush some of my TBR list that I’ve had for years. This will also give people some insight into books that are already available to purchase, or even some older books.


my choices

This was really hard for me to do, but I think I came up with two solid choices for the first round of “Off The Bookcase”

The first one is:

interestings

The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer

I have had this book for a couple of years now, I’m pretty sure I got it from the site Book Outlet, but I can’t be certain. I have wanted to read this one forever, but I really don’t want to put it in the already read pile. I know that’s weird, but I love the mystery of a new book. This one has gotten lots of praise so hopefully it’s a decent read.

The next pick is:

all-the-bright-places

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

I got this book from a library book sale- and I was so excited to pick it up because I have heard nothing but good things about this book. I can’t wait to crack it open!


Well that’s pretty much all for this edition of Off The Bookcase. These are my picks for the month of October, I’m hoping to do this at least once a month, to start going through my lovely bookshelves and reading some good books along the way.

Let me know what you think of this segment! Feel free to do a version of your own as well.

Now I must go tackle my TBR list!

One thought on “Off The Bookcase

Leave a Reply

