Landline

18081809

I’m not even kidding you, and I’m pretty sure you guys are going to think I’m crazy, but this is the first Rainbow Rowell book I have ever read! I’ve actually had Landline on my TBR list for about a year now, along with most, if not all, of her other work. I just hadn’t gotten around to it. Then I saw it at the library, and after going on a dark and mysterious binge, I decided I wanted something more light hearted so I grabbed it up. I really liked the style of writing, and I really liked the plot- which means I am definitely going to check out more of her books- but I felt like this book left me wanting MORE. There was just so much more I needed answers to, so many more questions I was asking and the author never answered them! Even though it was such a good read, and might I add quick and fun, it was a little bit of a let down.

Georgie McCool (yes, that’s her real name) almost has her dream job. It’s with in her grasp. The only thing is, she has to stay home for Christmas break while her husband and two young daughters head off to Nebraska to celebrate the holiday with her husband’s family. Georgie has to stay in California to write 4 scripts for her show she is trying to pitch. Her husband, Neal, is not happy at all. It’s Christmas, so he is upset that she won’t be there, but he’s willing to take the girls to Nebraska and let Georgie stay in California to work. When he leaves with out saying I love you, Georgie is sent into a tale spin of depression, and worry that there is something going on with Neal and their marriage.

She tries calling her husband while he and the girls are away, but can’t seem to get ahold of him on his cell phone. Then one night, as she’s lying in her childhood bed (she doesn’t want to go home to an empty house), Georgie picks up the old yellow rotary phone and dials Neal’s parent’s number. What happens next is baffling, Neal’s dad answers the phone. The same dad that has been dead for 3 years.

After Georgie talks to Neal, the one from 15 years ago, she thinks it’s possible she’s having a stroke, or a mental break down. Even though she feels like this, she never tells anyone in her family what she has discovered. Instead, she keeps it a secret, and continues to talk to the Neal from the past. What she discovers is mind boggling, and may give her answers that she needed from many years ago.

I love that Georgie is able to reconnect with her husband, and appreciate him more because she is able to talk to his former self, but at the same time, she wasn’t ever able to talk to her current-self husband. That bothered me about this book, why was he always out when she called? It was just strange to me, and I feel like the case of the time traveling phone was never revealed as well.

Over all I really liked this book, I just think it could have had more answers! I give it a 4 out of 5, and will definitely be checking out more Rainbow Rowell books in the future.

2 thoughts on “Landline

Leave a Reply

