The Magicians

TheMagicians

The Magicians is a fantasy novel written by Lev Grossman. It’s actually a series that I haven’t quite finished yet, but this first book was refreshing, interesting, and filled with wonderment. This book follows Quentin Goldwater on his trip to a prestigious interview at an Ivy League school, but when he gets to the interviewers home, he finds the old man dead. After the police are called and an ambulance shows up, one of the EMT’s hands him an envelope that was sitting on the interviewers desk. The envelope has his name on it, so it’s his, right?

This envelope contains a part of a book series that he is in absolute love with. He pulls some of the papers out on his way home from the not-interview, and they blow away in the wind. While chasing after them, he finds himself lost- stumbling on a tree in a field, with an old house in the distance. He’s confused, wary, yet intrigued.

The house holds many secrets, first that it’s a prestigious secret college, second, that it’s filled with magic. After a two hour test, Quentin finds himself enrolled in this school. That’s only the beginning. Through out his school year he learns much about himself, as well as the magic realm of the world. After school gets out, he finds out even more secrets that he never knew even existed. Where evil is not quite as obvious as it may seem.

When I first started reading this book, I couldn’t get the idea that it was a broke Harry Potter out of my head. I pushed on though, and I am glad that I did. It’s more grown-up then Harry Potter, and it has much deeper content. I think that this book is really, truly, interesting in it’s own way, even if it still kind of reminds me of good ol’ Harry. If you are looking for a magic world set in the real world, and aren’t afraid of a little psychological thriller mixed in with your fantasy, this is the series for you. I have only read the first book in the trilogy, but I definitely think I will search out the other two books to see where Quentin’s life takes him.

I give this book 4 out of 5, it’s very interesting, but it’s also tedious at times. I still want to learn more about this weird and captivating world that Quentin found himself in.

2 thoughts on “The Magicians

  1. I recently got this book on a whim at a local used book place. I’ve been kindof wary to start on it being that I’m a Potterhead through and through, but I’m hoping that I’ll eventually get up enough moxie to give it a try:-)

    Like

    1. It definitely made me think of Harry Potter, but it’s for a more mature audience we will say lol. I also enjoy the HP books, though in not a super fan. I think that if you can see it as a separate book than the HP series you will like it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

