Fangirl

16068905

Fangirl is my second Rainbow Rowell book that I have ever read, and to be honest I wasn’t all that impressed with this one. I think the first one that I reviewed Landline spoke to me more because the character was a little more my style, a mom and wife, while the main character in this book is a freshman in college.

Cath is a fan fiction writer for Simon Snow books (knock off Harry Potter), who is starting her freshman year of college. Which means that she will be living in a separate room from her twin sister Wren for the first time in her entire life. Plus, she will have to somehow make friends with strangers and basically do all types of social things that she doesn’t feel comfortable with. The only real consolation she finds is with her fiction writing class. The boy she partners with is sorta cute, and he likes to write. Plus, her roommate and her maybe-boyfriend are people Cath can imagine being friends with. When Cath gets in trouble for plagiarism by the fiction writing professor, she starts to lose the confidence that she just recently gained.

Let me start with the things that I liked about this book. First, I like that Cath is trying to find her way in college, I was totally like that too when I first started- so I can see myself there. I was always confused about where the heck I was supposed to be, and I was definitely afraid to walk around campus at night like her. She’s a very likable character, and the dialog made me laugh. The parts that I didn’t like about this book, and I think it has to do with the fact that I’m not in a “fandom” so I don’t get it- is that she is so obsessed with Simon Snow it’s almost off-putting. I feel for Cath, and I think that’s part of the reason why I liked this book- other than that, I just think it was okay.

I give this book 4 out of 5, because I really did laugh at times, but it was also generic.

2 thoughts on “Fangirl

Leave a Reply

