I Was Here

18879761

Oh Gayle Forman, you just need to stop making me cry! I love all of the books that I’ve read by this author, so far, but I Was Here was a special kind of book. It was pretty different, compared to the other teen suicide books that I’ve read ( I don’t think that is an official genre, I just don’t know what else to call it). This is the story of how Cody tries to find out why her best friend poisoned herself, and she will stop at nothing to find out the answers that she so desperately needs.

I picked this book up on my Kindle from my local library. I loved the books If I Stay and Where She Went, so I had a good feeling about this one. Cody and Meg were best friends from when they were small. Meg always seemed like a happy girl, a little outspoken and eccentric, so when her family and her best friend learn about her death, they are instantly shocked and confused. What unravels after Cody is given Meg’s laptop, is a world of darkness that Cody never knew existed.

After Cody takes off to Meg’s old house in her college town to pack up the rest of her things, she begins a strange relationship with the boy that Meg last liked before she passed away. I think this part of the book weirded me out, more than made me happy for Cody. I don’t know, I just feel like if your best friend loved a boy, you shouldn’t really get in a relationship with him. Cody and Ben start out disliking each other- but then they find love on a road trip to discover Meg’s secrets.

I enjoyed that this book as a quick read- I read it in less than a day. That usually happens with Gayle Forman books because you just want to get to the end to find out what happens. I think it dealt with grief in a realistic way, but in a way that was easy for young readers to understand. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars. It was very emotional and heart wrenching, but it was also light and funny at some points.

Leave a Reply

