Promise to Keep

515ryqnMyPL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

This book was one of the first ever “Promise of Sunrise” books I have ever read. Also, this is the first Elizabeth Byler Younts book I have read. Promise to Keep was given to me as part of a blogger review program, and at first I was a little bit reluctant to read this. The reasons for that were I don’t really get into historical fiction all that much, plus I don’t read about Amish people all that much. Those two things had me a little bit wary of reading this book, but I decided to give it a try. Though, it wasn’t one of the best books that I have read this year, it certainly was a sweet story about finding love and family after returning home from war.

The story starts off with the death of Esther’s grandmother, who took care of Esther after her parents both passed away as a child. Now, Esther is taking care of her cousin’s child Daisy, who is deaf. Daisy’s mother passed away, and her father is off at war. When Daisy’s father returns home, he is not very welcomed by the child. She doesn’t know him, and she is so attached to Esther that it is hard for her to want to build a relationship with her father.

Even though Esther is dealing with some troublesome things from her own past, she still starts to get feelings for Daisy’s father. Esther is Amish, and Joe is not, so it’s hard for them to connect when they have come from such different worlds. Esther doesn’t want to give up Daisy, but she also wants her to have a relationship with her father. I thought this was a really interesting way to show family dynamic, and how even though people have differences, we can still love and respect others.

The author of this book grew up as an Amish woman, so I know that there were many factual things in this book. I think that, mixed with the feelings of losing a child, made this book interesting to me. I always like to learn about other peoples religions and backgrounds, so that intrigued me. Other than that, I felt that the author tried too hard to make the book melodic. Using symbolic themes or describing things that could have been said in a much easier way. If you are interested in historical romance novels, this book will definitely be right up your alley. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars, I am happy that I gave it a try, but it’s still not something I would go back and read if I wanted.

Leave a Reply

