Preschooled

preschooled-ebook

Comedy and wit rest between the pages of Preschooled by Anna Lefler. I received this book from Netgalley. The first reason that I wanted to read this is because preschool is in my pretty near future. I am actually looking forward to that time in my sons life, because I can’t wait for him to make little friends- and have fun going to school. I think that around my area, in Michigan, it won’t be as Real Housewives of Orange County as it is in this book. The second reason I wanted to read this book is because it is almost like preschool Real Housewives of Orange County, which was one of my favorite trashy “reality” shows.

 Justine has just deposited a heck of a lot of cash to get her two year old daughter, Emma, into the gates of The Garden of Happiness. Which is the most talked about preschool in the area. The preschool orientation goes off without a hitch, if you don’t count the sancti-mommy’s and not-so-mentally-present daddy’s. Oh, and Justine’s ex boyfriend, who just happens to be paired up with her for a new-student and old-student advice group. Now that she spends a little more time with her ex, and a little less time with her husband, Justine doesn’t know if she can keep the old feelings in the past.

We can’t forget about Margaret. Who owns the school Garden of Happiness. Well, she owns it for now. But maybe not for long, that is if her soon to be ex husband has any say in it. He didn’t help her build the school, but he’s certainly going to try to take half of the school away from her. Margaret has to come up with an unconventional plan to keep her school up and running, and ultimately HER school.

Ruben is a stay at home dad of twins. Technically he’s supposed to be writing a script, while his wife goes back to work to support the family. The only thing is, he thinks he’s lost his funny. He doesn’t know how he can balance being a committed dad, especially when he has responsibility at the school, but also try to write his screen play and not upset his marriage at the same time.

The catty, Mean Girls style world of preschool. Who knew it was harder to get into a good preschool than it is to get into an Ivy League school. I loved the alternating perspectives of this book, and I loved the laugh out loud funny moments. I could totally relate to Justine, because of the whole out side looking in feel, and how she pretty much doesn’t know what she’s doing at a school like Garden of Happiness. The only thing I didn’t like about this book, and it’s because I was supposed to be put off by them, were the other terrible parents in the book. From the very beginning you get at the feeling of their noses in the air, “I’m better than you”, vibe from these moms and it’s quite obnoxious.

I am going to give this book 4 out of 5 stars. I did really like it, but at the same time I’m kind of tired of the whole bratty mom cliche. Plus, at time’s this book felt like it rambled on a little bit. Other than those two little criticisms, I really did like the book, and it made me laugh more than it should have probably!

Leave a Reply

