Bloodlines

2000142692

This is one of the books that I received from Netgalley. At first it sounded very interesting, and I was really excited to read it. The cover looks super creepy, and as you may know I’ve been in a creepy book mood because of October. Well, I feel like the cover is extremely misleading, as the book is not creepy so much as a mystery. Which, to be honest, it’s not really a mystery either- it’s basically a book about a boy trying to find out where he comes from after the death of his mother.

Zane loses his job at the zoo he worked at, and his mother was killed the next day. He doesn’t remember the night that it happened. Sounds creepy right? Yea I thought so too. Also, his mom lied about who she really was, and who Zane’s dad really was. So, he goes on a mission to find his real father, and to uncover the secrets of the past that his mother tried so hard to bury.

I thought this book was going to scary me, and at first it really did intrigue me, then about 60-70% into the book, it fell flat. Nothing happened, the boy Zane met his dad, and literally nothing happened after that. I kept reading and waiting for something crazy to spark my interest-but it never came. Also, there is an entire subplot that is dedicated to a girl Zane likes named Emmaline, and I honestly felt like there was absolutely no reason for this to be part of the book.

The characters in this book didn’t do anything, they didn’t evolve at all, and it just fell completely flat. So, even though I was truly excited to read a creepy book- this was not what I was looking for in the least. I will give this book a 2 out of 5, just because it did have really good writing. Other than that, I think we can all pass on this one.

One thought on “Bloodlines

Leave a Reply

