Out of Sorts

out-of-sorts-9781476717586_hr

I received this book through the book reviewer program for Howard Books. Out of Sorts: Making Peace with an Evolving Faith by Sarah Bessey is probably one of the most important books that I have read this year. As I have stated many many times before on my blog, I am a spiritual person- I believe in God and Jesus, but I am not religious- this book has given me the tools to understand how where I can find myself within the Christian religion, and how I can be a believer who has doubts, who doesn’t understand everything, and who even may be a little bit scared.

As soon as I read the description of this book, I knew it was going to be right for me. Seeing as how I am always “out of sorts”. I’m always wrestling with my beliefs, and I’m always struggling to understand not only the world around me, but what’s inside me as well. I had never heard of Sarah Bessey before, but she is a wonderful story teller, who makes you feel like you are right in the room with her. I like that she isn’t a religious “pusher” she sort of ebbs and flows with it herself, and she explains how that is okay, and that we are all going to be okay. She explains how you don’t always have to agree with everything a religion tells you to believe, and that things change-times change- and people change, and that’s all okay.

This book really gave me a good feeling, and I think that if you are a person who struggles with understanding religion, the bible, or just have sort of no idea what you believe, this book might be something that you want to get your hands on. It’s really down to earth, it’s not “preachy” and it has really good stories and wisdom inside. I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

