Where’d You Go Bernadette

41HGJKFdW3L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

All the things that I have ever heard about this book have been great. I’ve heard that this book is funny, interesting, and a book that you won’t want to put down. Well, that’s not the impression I got when I read Where’d You Go Bernadette by Maria Semple. I must be in the minority with how I felt about this book, because I found none of the good things that everyone else was talking about. I grabbed this book from the e-book resource at my local library, and I got excited because it had been checked out for a really long time. I hadn’t heard much about what the book was about, just that it was funny and entertaining. So, I went into it little blind.

This book is about Bernadette, obviously, and how she has some sort of social anxiety, and she’s a little eccentric for some peoples taste. I can totally relate to the anxiety that Bernadette has, but I feel like it made her character seem “weird”. Well, Bernadette’s anxieties get the better of her when she and her family organize a trip to Antartica. She can’t handle the pressure and leaves. Her daughter is left to put the pieces back together and figure out where it is that her mother went, and why she left.

This book is told through many perspectives and it’s also told through many different forms of communication. Such as email, letters, and her daughters narrative. I love when books do this, and I find it widely entertaining, but the story it self was soooo dull. Plus, I couldn’t stand Aubrey (who I’m pretty sure no one that’s read this book could stand). I just didn’t get why this book was so great. The idea behind this book is phenomenal, but the execution is a far cry from the rave reviews I’ve been reading. 2 out of 5 stars for me. Bummer and a thumbs down.

Leave a Reply

