Books I’ve Started But CANNOT Finish

booksivestarted

Hey everyone! I feel like we spend a lot of time talking about books that we love on our blogs, but I wanted to shed some light on the books that we just didn’t enjoy, or the books that we just couldn’t get into enough to finish them. There have been quite a few for me, and I would love to know what books you guys have tried to read, maybe even more than once, but you just can’t get into them.

Here are 10 of mine. By the way I’ve really tried to read more than one of these more than once. Just can’t do it:

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

91cMHG1mVaL

Yeah….tried two times to read this book. I just found the writing SO boring and I could not get into this book at all.

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

71ZlxOeCx4L

I think this was the 3rd Rainbow Rowell book I’ve tried to read. I really liked Landline, didn’t really care for Fangirl, and this one I couldn’t even finish. I’m pretty sure I’m just not a Rainbow Rowell fan.

Beautiful You by Chuck Palahniuk

920x920

I am a huge Chuck Palahniuk fan, I loved Choke and Fight Club…but this one was just too disgusting and raunchy even for me. Couldn’t finish it, and I got pretty far too.

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

everything-i-never-told-you-original-imae2ffkwzr5r57x

This book was so dull….

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

6334

This is another one of those books everyone talks about but I just could not get into it.

The One and Only by Emily Giffin

18465837

I love love love Emily Giffin, I have many of her books…but this one just seemed like it was written quickly and with no real plot.

Summer House with Swimming Pool by Herman Koch

18594633

I got pretty far in this book and then I realized NOTHING HAS HAPPENED. So I gave up.

Mercy by Jodi Picoult

mercy-pb-lg

Jodi Picoult is probably my favorite author ever, and this book was just not up to par with the other books that I’ve read of hers.

The Here and Now by Ann Brashares

TheHereAndNow_front-cover-medium

I loved loved loved The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series, this book..not so much.

The Host by Stephenie Meyer

The_Host

I could not understand what the hell was going on in this book.


Well guys, that’s some of the books that I couldn’t finish. What about you?

12 thoughts on “Books I’ve Started But CANNOT Finish

  1. Oh no! Now I’m afraid to start “We Were Liars” haha. I haven’t read any of the other books except The Host which I actually loved! It’s confusing at first but gets better 🙂

    Like

  2. “The Raj Quartet” by Paul Scott, brought to PBS TV as “The Jewel in the Crown”–this is a book that can make half an hour seem like two and a half hours unloading freight cars in the heat of summer. It sank under the weight of its own gravitas. I think the plot was about a lot of people in India trying to talk each other to death, but I’m not sure I can trust my memory that far.

    Like

    1. This reminds me of a “horror” movie I saw a long time ago, I can’t remember the name, but it was supposed to be super scary. The entire movie was some girls sitting around the table talking, and maybe a shower scene.

      Like

  3. I recently dropped both The Road by Cormac McCarthy and Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children about halfway 😒 I went on to watch the movie of The Road though and loved it. I can’t fault the writing, it was actually really beautiful but it was too slow paced.

    Miss Peregrine wasn’t at all what I expected. I thought it was a horror/ ghost story type book but it was fantasy and there was time travelling 😣

    Like

  4. OMG literally half of these are on my TBR pile….. The only one on this list that I HAVE read is the Host, and it’s actually pretty far up there on my list of favorites. It’s hard to figure out in the first couple of chapters or so, but once I got past that awkward “nice meeting you” stage, I absolutely fell in love. The one book that sticks in my mind as a DNF is “J” by Howard Jacobson. I actually received 2 copies from B4B and just.couldn’t.do it. It made me really sad:-(

    Like

Leave a Reply

