The Word Game

51DMIuTNCgL._AC_UL320_SR214,320_

The Word Game by Steena Holmes is a book that I received form Netgalley. Though this book touched on a very serious matter, it was actually a quick read. At times I felt very immersed in the story, and other times I felt like it was very repetitive. The story revolves around Alyson and her family and friends. After a dance competition, Alyson lets her daughter Lyla stay the night at her sister’s house for a slumber party with her sister’s daughter Katy, and other girls from the dance team. This is the first time that Aly has let Lyla stay anywhere over night, she is protective of her child, because of some things that happened to her in the past. Letting her guard down proved to be a bad idea when Lyla comes home and tells her mother something that no mother wants to hear, now Alyson has to decide what she is going to do with he information that Lyla tells her. If she does nothing, she will feel like a terrible person, but if she tells someone she is going to open a can of worms that she doesn’t want to open.

Alyson’s sister Tricia, Katy’s mom, thinks that Alyson may be blowing things out of proportion, and wants to wait to find out everything that actually happened. I don’t want to give away what happened, because it’s something that you need to read in the book to get the full effect of it, but it’s something that you never want your child to go through. As a mother myself, I would have a hard time deciding what I wanted to do with the information that Alyson got from her daughter, so I totally understand her dilemma. What bothered me, was I felt that a lot of the book was going back and forth between Alyson and herself deciding if she was going to tell, and also between Alyson and Tricia where Tricia was telling her she was blowing it up. I felt like there could have been more story development rather than this back and forth between characters for what seemed like chapters. Other than that I thought this book was good, it has potential to be better, but I really liked the way that it was written, and the characters were believable. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.

One thought on “The Word Game

  1. I hate when books have a lot of potential to have a better plot line but instead the author focuses on character development which in my opinion can go one of two ways;either very good or very boring.😐

    Like

Leave a Reply

