After You

9780525426592_custom-771e68183dad310e9eff4577f588179e46f0421a-s300-c85

I am going to try the best I can do to a spoiler free review on this book. After You by Jojo Moyes is the sequel to Me Before You, which I am surprised to see that I never did a review on. I’m shocked about that because Me Before You was probably one of y favorite books that I read this year. When I read the first book, I fell in love. I feel in love with Will, and with Lou. I also fell in love with their story. When I heard that the sequel was going to happen I was so damn excited, I couldn’t wait. I followed the author on every social media outlet I could, just to see if I could get a glimpse into the world of Lou, after she and Will parted ways. I immediately put this book on the hold list at my library, and I couldn’t down the days until it was released. When I finally got my hands on After You it was not what I expected. I was hoping for the raw emotion and even more love within the pages of this book. What I got instead was disappointment, a really bad story line, and far fetched characters.

I really don’t want to give too much away for those people who haven’t read either of these books yet, but the first book ends on such a sad and bittersweet cliff hanger that the second book just doesn’t really hold a candle to. It seemed like the author was trying to out do herself, by putting Lou in these incredibly ridiculous situations that seemed unnecessary, uncalled for and all together not believable. I really felt like this book could have been taken into a whole different direction. Instead of feeling love and heartbreak like I did with the first book, I left this book feeling let down.

My disappointment with the author is real, and I am sad because I really loved the characters of Lou and Will, they will always hold a place in my heart, but for now I am just going to pretend that the second book never happened. I give this one 2 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

