Off the Bookcase- How I Live Now

offthebookcase

The first book I read this month for “Off the Bookcase” was How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff. This is a book about a girl who is sent to England to live with her aunt and cousins, after her father and her step mom sort of just give up on her. While she’s away, WWIII breaks out, and her and her cousins have to fend for themselves.

how-i-live-now-cover

I thought this book was interesting, though at times I was a little bit bored. It’s a good “coming of age” story, but it was also a little bit weird. The things that I found weird about it were how it was written, and the fact that the main character was falling in love with her cousin.

The book was written like the main character Elizabeth, or Daisy (Yeah, I thought that was weird), was talking to you. There were tons of run on sentences, and sometimes when I read run ons, I feel like I’m out of breath. Also, there were no quotations which made it obvious someone was speaking.

Also, Daisy was falling for her cousin. I just…don’t…get into that.

Other than those two things, I thought the premise of the book was really interesting, and it was a short read.

I give this book 3 out of 5 stars. It wasn’t the best, and it wasn’t the worst thing I’ve ever read.

Next I will be reading:

The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman

13158800

Leave a Reply

