Dark Sun, Bright Moon

51LY77GlZZL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

The book Dark Sun, Bright Moon by Oliver Sparrow, is one of those books that I wasn’t sure that I was going to like. It had it’s moments of really good story, and then it would kind of drop off. A thousand years ago, a plague descends on this village in the Andes. They have no idea that there are other people living beyond their village, so it all comes as a surprise. The story also follows a girl named Q’ilyasisa who is the heir to legacy, but she does not know that either.

To say I liked this book would be an over statement, I didn’t mind it exactly, but it was just really confusing to me. Partly because it is a history book, but it’s not real history. The author knew a lot about the Andes, and knew a lot about this village, that didn’t really exist. It was hard to get into the story, because I couldn’t figure out what was real or not real. The premise was great, and it was very detailed. The book also had many pictures that were great to sort of look at while reading the story, it helped me get a better sense of what was going on. I think I really have a hard time visualizing something that I can’t understand.

One thing that I really did enjoy about this book was the way that the author wrote, it was more interesting than a normal history book, it didn’t have words in it that were hard to understand, or phrases that didn’t make sense. It was in “layman’s” terms, and it was pretty awesome to actually be able to read something about a part of the world I didn’t know about, and still be able to sort of understand what was going on.

I give this book 3 out of 5 stars, the writing was good, but it was just too confusing to me. If you are into history, I think this book would be right up your alley. Especially because the plot is pretty good.

Leave a Reply

