Love and Other Alien Experienes

1438964225551

The cover of this book is out of this world (haha get it), but really I thought it was so cute, and I thought that the concept of the book Love and Other Alien Experiences by Kerry Winfrey was something that I could relate to, and something that I would get a lot from. This book is about Mallory who is pretty much condemned to her home after her dad walks out on her family. She has such bad anxiety and post traumatic stress that she physically cannot leave her house with out feeling like she is going to die. I can totally relate to Mallory. I don’t have anxiety on her level, but I do get anxiety when leaving the house, or when I have to drive somewhere. After reading the synopsis of this book, I knew it was something that was right up my alley, and something that I would want to read and share with everyone I know.

Since Mallory stays home pretty much all day, and skypes her classes, she doesn’t have many friends. She’s got her best friend Jenni and her little brother Lincoln, plus her sort-of friend from the online community for alien believers named “Beammeup”. Other than that, she stays at home and just waits for the days to pass by. Until the homecoming nominations are announced, and Mallory’s name is called. First, she thinks its a joke, everyone making fun of the ‘weird” girl who never leaves her house. Then she realizes that maybe it’s a little bit more than that. When Jenni convinces her to try and get the most popular football player, Brad, to take her to the homecoming dance, Brad leads her on an adventure that may just free her from her restraints, and also lead her into the arms of the person she would least expect.

This book is what I would consider a YA book, so it was fairly light to read, and it was an easy read. I thought that it was a good book, and that it really helped me to realize that I can still do things even though I have anxiety. Mallory may be able to do more things, but she still has anxiety and it is a process to overcome. At some points in the book I did feel like the story was going into too many directions, but by the end it all came back and tied together very nicely. I give this book 5 out of 5 stars, because it was a joy to read, and it just made me feel better about my situation.

One thought on “Love and Other Alien Experienes

Leave a Reply

