The Devil’s Playground

8724393_orig

There has never been a forbidden fruit so tempting and sweet, as Vince Pratt. The police chief, father, and husband of another woman. Meredith travels down the path of intimacy, pleasure, and pure sexual tension with another woman’s husband in the new novel from Eliza Freed, The Devil’s Playground. I have to say, this book caught me off guard. I read the back, and I thought it sounded so good, but when I started reading I was so enamored with the words that were written on these pages, I couldn’t stop reading! I had to pick this book up every chance I got, I felt like I was also falling for Vince, and I was feeling a little bit secretive about reading this book myself. It was so thoughtfully crafted, so utterly tempting and sexual that I felt like I needed to hole up in my room to read it. It was SUCH a good suspenseful and seductive book that I cannot wait until the second book in this series comes out.

Meredith is an attorney turned stay at home mom, who is in a loveless marriage. Her husband Brad travels all the time, and barely leaves time for her and the kids. While on a field trip for one of her children, she meets Vince, another kid’s dad, who happens to be the police chief of the town. Not only is he super attractive, and smells delicious, but he’s a really nice guy, and pays attention to Meredith the entire ride to the museum. When Meredith gets a message from Vince in the following days, she starts to realize that that attraction she felt for him might have been a two way street.

What comes after, is a whirlwind affair, turned romance, that cannot be explained. Neither of the two want to discuss the ramifications of their actions, though they know it’s possible to screw up their lives. Meredith doesn’t want to leave her husband, because she doesn’t want to hurt there children. The two go back and forth between wanting to want each other, and trying to stifle the feelings.

This book will have you turning the pages non stop, wondering what will happen next. Also, the characters in this book are so real and have so many layers that you won’t be able to get enough. It’s like a peek inside a typical suburban moms twisted world. I loved every second of it. The only thing left to say is, move over Fifty Shades of Grey theres a new book coming to town. I give this book 5 out of 5 stars, wow.

3 thoughts on “The Devil’s Playground

Leave a Reply

