Off The Bookcase-The Light Between Oceans

offthebookcase

I DID IT! I finally finished the two books that I wanted to read this month from my book shelf. First was How I Live Now, which I thought was decent but not spectacular. Now I am talking about The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman.

13158800

This book takes place in the early 1920’s off the coast of Australia. A lighthouse keeper named Tom, and his wife find a boat washed ashore. Inside the boat is a man, who appears to be dead, and a little baby. Tom’s wife Isabel is concerned about the baby, yet ecstatic because she has always wanted a child, but suffered through many miscarriages. At first, Tom wants to call in the boat, and Isabel changes his mind and tells him to wait a little while, so that she can make sure the baby is okay.

After a while, it becomes apparent that Isabel isn’t going to give the baby up. She claims this little girl is a gift from God, and eventually they keep her as their own, and name her Lucy. Aside from the fact that they know what they are doing is wrong, they believe that the good outweighs the bad, until they have to go to the mainland. They realize that what they did may have had catastrophic consequences.

First, let me say that I enjoyed this novel, but it was hard to read. The writing was terribly dense, which made me put it down after a couple of pages every time. I guess I’m just not used to reading books that are so wrapped up in the nuance that this book had. The story was incredible, but I just could not connect with the characters because of the way it was written. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars, it’s a sad story, but it takes a lot of concentration.

Leave a Reply

