Angelfall

First_cover_of_the_paperback.jpg

I received a copy of Angelfall by Susan Ee from Amazon publishing, in exchange for an honest review. I really really wanted to like this book, but I felt like it was just too out there for me to really get into. Every time I would put it down, I didn’t want to pick it back up. I felt like there was too much suffering in this book, and angels are supposed to be angelic (obviously), and good, while this book portrayed them as evil and destructive. I just couldn’t get into that.

This book follows Penryn and her family after the apocalypse, where angels have taken over the Earth, and everything has pretty much gone to crap. Penryn, her mother and her disable sister Paige, are trying to fight for their lives during this crazy time. They get separated and Penryn wants to find her little sister, while simultaneously taking care of/holding hostage a fallen angel. There are a lot of fight scenes in this novel, which was awesome, and there was a lot of really cool post-apocalyptic world building, but for me it was just too much of a stretch to comprehend.

I loved the idea of the post-apocalyptic world that Susan Ee was trying to convey, she had such an awesome, original idea, but it just didn’t sit well with me. I don’t know if that’s because of my spiritual beliefs, or just because the writing was different than I am used to. Either way, this book was alright, but it wasn’t one of my favorites. I doubt I will be picking up the second book.

One of the characters that I really liked, was Penryn’s mom. She suffered from schizophrenia, which made her character interesting, believable and entertaining. I loved to hear what she was doing, what she was thinking, and the flashbacks also absorbed my attention.

This book was okay to me, some other people might like it more, but I give this book 3 out of 5 stars.

3 thoughts on “Angelfall

Leave a Reply

