In a Dark, Dark Wood

61MtmXFNOqL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

I love the cover of this book, it’s so intricate yet simple. In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware was a story that I have been hearing about for quite some time now, and I had even seen it on Netgalley but decided not to request it. I finally got it from my library this past month, since I figured it was time I read it. I had been hearing a lot about how good it was, so I wanted to read it for myself.

Lenora, the main character in this novel, is wary but excited when her old high school friend Clare invites her for a hen weekend (which I’m assuming is the British term for a bachelorette party). When Lenora finally arrives in this cottage that’s very deep into the woods, to see her old friend and some of Clare’s other friends, she is still nervous because of the things that happened in the past between the two girls. She hopes that whatever it was, that Clare is over it, and this is sort of her way of apologizing and clearing the air about what happened. At this point, the reader doesn’t know what the big thing was that tore them apart.

Then, Lenora finds out what Clare has been hiding from her. Clare is marrying Lenora’s old boyfriend, James. Now Lenora is really upset, weirded out, and ready to go home. But she stays because of her other friend, Nina, who really wants to her stick it out with her. After a snow storm, the girls start to hear some really weird noises and come to find out there is a man creeping up the stairs, after a bout with an ouiji board, and ghost stories, their hackles are already raised, so this is just the icing on the cake. Eventually, someone grabs a gun and shoots the intruder. The intruder ends up being someone they all know well, James. After that all things start to get fuzzy and Lenora doesn’t remember them well at all, and now she is in the hospital and someone is dead.

When she finds out who shot the gun, and what really happened that night of the hen weekend, she is in for a big surprise.

This book was just okay for me. It could have had a ton of potential but there were just too many pieces that were supposed to link together and never really made it that far. Plus, the mystery was so illusive that by the time you figured out what it was, there were only 20 pages left in the book, and by that time I was already bored. I give this book 3 out of 5 stars, which sucks because I had anticipated this one to be a pretty good read, but it was just average to me.

3 thoughts on “In a Dark, Dark Wood

  1. It’s such shame when a book you’ve been really looking forward to reading is a bit of a disappointment. BTW you’re right about a hen night/weekend being the same as a bachelorette party 🙂 x

    Like

Leave a Reply

