Bronner

Bronner-cover-from-pub-website-252x378.jpg

This book hit me hard, and I had to set it down several times before I could finish it. Brenner is the story of a little boy who drowned in a pool, and the journey that his mother who is also the author of the book, Sherri Burgess, went on to come to terms with his death, and to understand that there is meaning behind it, as well as life beyond this one.

I could relate to the mother in this book, because I also have a 2 1/2 year old little boy, and I think that was most of the reason why it was so hard for me to read, I couldn’t help but put my little boy’s face in the place of Bronner’s and it terrified me. The passing of Bronner is something that ever mother and father fears, and for it to come true is the worst possible thing that could happen.

Though Sherri was impossibly saddened by the loss of her little boy, she turned her grief into something more powerful, love. She took a journey to understand why it was that God took her little boy to Heaven, and she also wanted to understand what she could do to help other people so that they don’t have to go through this type of grief.

Even though this book was tough to get through for me, it wasn’t because it was a bad book. In fact, it is the exact opposite, books should inflict emotion on their readers, and this book inflicted top notch emotion. To the point where my anxiety was so strong I had to go and grip my son tight in my arms. I can’t say that I necessarily enjoyed this book, but it did teach me something. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars, and I have actually passed this book on to a friend of mine who lost her son last year in an accident. I am hoping that it will give her some coping abilities, and also help her to know she is not alone. I received this book for free from Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for an honest review. If you would like to know more about the author of this book Sherri Burgess, please feel free to click here.

One thought on “Bronner

Leave a Reply

