RYBSAT 2016

tumblr_meqv1i1yRQ1qzb5wzo1_1280

Hello fellow book lovers! This year is the first time I have EVER participated in a read-athon. This one is called RYBSAT, or Read Your Bookshelf-A Thon. The whole premise of the readathon is to pick a spot on your book shelf, and read the books in order. Apparently you are allowed to skip a book only if it is the second and subsequent books in a series, or you have already read the book.

I cheated just a tad, because I began reading The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey on the 18th, while the readathon started on January 19th. So, I had about half of the book done when the readathon started. This readathon went from January 19-25th. So, I was still able to get a couple more books in. MY TBR looked like this:

FullSizeRender-2.jpg

The books were not in this order on my shelf, it went The 5th Wave, Dare Me, Second Life, Find Me, Normally…, and The Violet Hour. I put them in this order because I felt it was more aesthetically pleasing.

So first I read The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

16101128.jpg

Great book about Aliens, there is a cool twist in it that I really liked. I thought it was a lot different than other books of it’s kind.

The Second book I read was Dare Me by Megan Abbot

41x8eLYN-kL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

This book was just okay for me, I guess I don’t really like Megan Abbot’s writing style. The premise was cool, a new cheerleading coach starts a lot of drama with some high school girls. The way that it was written was too vague for me.

Third, I read Second Life by S.J.Watson

SJ-Watson-second-life-CA.jpg

I really liked Before I Go To Sleep by the same author, so I figured this one would be wonderful as well. It was actually a decent book, the plot was great, it was just a tad boring. I pushed through it though.

Fourth, I read Find Me by Laura Van Den Berg

findme_new1

So, I did not finish this one because I did not like it. I may be in the minority here, but WTF was this book even supposed to be about?

Lastly, I read Normally This Would Be Cause For Concern by Danielle Fishel (Topanga from Boy Meets World)

61SpO6lTuUL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

I love Danielle Fishel, I think she’s cute and fun and I loved Boy Meets World of course, but her book was just eh. She tried way too hard to be funny, and it just didn’t work. It was so awkward. I still read it though, I liked knowing more about her just wish she didn’t try so hard to be funny.

So there you have it, my first read a thon! I unfortunately didn’t get a chance to read The Violet Hour by 1 out of 6 aint bad right?

Did anyone else do this read a thon? If so, let me know what you read! And if you have read any of the books that I talked about, let me know that too!

 

7 thoughts on “RYBSAT 2016

  1. I read The fifth wave recently. I thought I wasn’t going to like it, but it was surprisingly different than most YA novels of its kind. It was really, really long though!

    All I’m hoping is that the Ben/Evan/Cassie thing doesn’t turn into a love triangle.

    Like

      1. I hope he’s feeling better now!

        Yes, I’ve seen it. It’s pretty generic apocalypse film. They’ve changed a lot of important plot points.

        I would have liked them to have a little more faith in the viewers that we would have liked the book version. Still, it was entertaining enough.

        Like

      2. Ugh! That makes me mad. Have you seen any of the Maze Runner movies or read the books? It’s the same thing where they changed so much they are practically 2 different franchises.

        And yes he is feeling better now thanks 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

