Instaread

icon175x175.png

INSTAREAD the book summary app that will make reading, research and relaxation easier in 2016.

I was approached by the marketing department of a new app for iPhone (for now) called Instaread. What this app does is summarize books by chapter, so that you can get a good idea what a book is about, or get the gist of the book with out having to read it in it’s entirety.

This is what it looks like when you first open the app:

(I want to apologize for my terrible screen shotting abilities)

IMG_0961

As you can see, the front page of the app shows New Books first, then Popular books, and so on down the line. There are many different categories, from Fiction-Poetry, Religion-Medical. I’m almost positive that if you are looking for a book, it will be on this app.

For example, this is one of the first books that I wanted to look at:

IMG_0957

I like Holly Madison, and I have wanted to read Down The Rabbit Hole, for a while, but maybe this app can help me figure out if it’s a book that I really want to read. So I go and click Read and Listen, then I can look at the chapters, get a decent synopsis of what the book entails, and decide from there if I want to proceed with buying the book, getting it from the library, or bypassing it all together.

One of my most favorite things about this app is the Psychology section. If you don’t know, I am studying Psychology in school right now (Graduating in September FINALLY!!!), and it might be obvious to some people, or it may not, but Psychology has so many different areas that people have written books about. Sometimes you may read something in one book, but can’t remember where you found it or what chapter it was in. Luckily Instaread has an entire section about Psychology books. So all I have to do is click that section, scroll through the books, or search for what I want, and when I find it I can look at all the chapters to see which chapter has the information that I need in it.

IMG_0958

 Here is the Psychology section, and what it looks like when you first click on it on the app. Pretty straight forward, and has different books, I am not sure how they are listed on the app, whether it’s popularity or alphabetical.

Say I am doing a paper, or doing some research about The Compound Effect.

IMG_0959

Look at that, there is the book I am looking for. I scroll down and I can see a preview of the book, so that I know that this is what I am looking for:

IMG_0960-2

Perfect, sounds exactly like what I was looking for. Now that I know what the book is about, I click on Read & Listen, and I can hear a synopsis of every chapter, until I find the one that has the information that I need.

Instaread is going to be a great tool for researching, especially when I go for my Master’s Degree and the subjects get even more specific. It’s also good for finding a part in a book that you love, but you can’t remember what chapter it’s in. Not only that, but you can decide whether or not you are going to like the book by reading up on the Preview and listening to the synopses of the chapters. One thing that could make this app even better is if there was a button that would let you buy the book on Amazon or another book buying site, so that you didn’t have to leave the app at all.

Overall, I really do like this app, and I think it will come in handy for students and book lovers, I can only see this app becoming more and more popular.

Leave a Reply

