Those We Fear

51rS7fgvYcL.jpg

Oh my gosh. This. Book. From the very instant I started reading this little gem, I knew I was going to in for one very eery, mysterious ride, and I was right. Those We Fear by Victoria Griffith was sent to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.

This book starts out pretty slow, building up to the crescendo that brought chills up and down my spine. I am so enamored with this book, I wish I would have been able to read this around Halloween time because it was just so spooky and good, it’s the perfect book to flip open when you are looking for a good creep out session. I think that Victoria Griffith is going places with her writing, this was brilliant, I can’t wait to see what else she has in store. Her writing style creates an air of mystery, terror, and the a story that just keeps creeping you out more and more as it goes on.

Maria, the main character in this book, has just joined the witness protection program. For what, we don’t know at the beginning of the book, which creates an obvious tension for Maria. She must move to a different country, and start an entirely new life with a new job and all. She finds a job working as an au pair for a wealthy man in Scotland. Sounds like a really cool job to me, doesn’t it? Once Maria gets to the estate, she starts to see random figures and people that aren’t really there. When she asks anyone about it, she usually gets a nonchalant answer, or they just shrug her off like she’s the crazy one.

Already, Maria is paranoid about her new situation because of the whole witness protection thing, but now she’s even more paranoid about how everyone at the estate acts. The more you read this book, the more you find your self becoming just as paranoid as Maria, and for good reason. Sometimes, like all good horror books and movies, things just aren’t what they appear to be at the surface. I give this book 5 out of 5 stars, this is one of the better books I have read this year, and I cannot even believe the ending, still.

One thought on “Those We Fear

Leave a Reply

