Ketchup is My Favorite Vegetable

51IXzQC1A3L._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Ketchup is My Favorite Vegetable by Liane Kupferberg Carter is a real, raw, and very powerful memoir about a family growing up with Autism. If you are unaware, Autism is a neurological disorder that makes it difficult to communicate, and form relationships with people, it also makes it hard to understand abstract concepts. Like Liane says in the book, if you have met one person with autism, then you have met one person with autism. Autism is a very complex disorder, and doesn’t affect people the same way across the spectrum.

I really loved this book, you can read about Autism, and you can read about people who have had real life experiences with Autism, and you will probably read two different stories. It’s the type of thing that’s hard to understand unless you live with it on a daily basis. I can’t say that I do, but I have a family member who has autism and he is one of the sweetest boys I know. Just like Mickey in this book, they are both complex people who often times get misunderstood.

This book well very in depth into what it means to have a child with Autism, and how their daily lives can be difficult, crushing, devastating, and wonderful all at the same time. Liane gives a mother’s insight into this world that we often times don’t see, and I really loved how she showcases the ups downs and in betweens of being a mom, especially a mom of a boy that has Autism. I loved this book, and it really taught me a lot. Mostly it taught me to be understanding, to be observant and to just be patient.

This was one of my favorite books of the year, I haven’t read a memoir that wrapped me up in the world of the writer as much as this one did, I give this 5 out of 5 stars. Inspirational and a great read. I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “Ketchup is My Favorite Vegetable

Leave a Reply

