Desire in the Everglades

51JGNIlglDL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

I am not the type of girl that typically enjoys books with studly men on the cover, I always just assume they are cheesy and awkward romance novels. Yes, yes I know I’m judging a book by it’s cover, we’ve already discussed that I do that. When I was approached by the author of Desire in the Everglades, Stacy Hoff, I got a chance to read the synopsis of the book before I saw the cover, which helped me to discern that I wanted to read it with out ever seeing what the cover looked like. To be honest, I was pleasantly surprised at how good this book was, despite my dislike for shirt dudes on the cover.

Stephanie is a television producer, but even though she likes her job and she’s successful, she isn’t all that happy with the way that her career is going. Instead, she would like to write romance novels, but due to issues that happened in her past she just doesn’t really want to put herself out there at the current moment. When she’s approached to take over the newest reality show for the television company, she’s not really all that excited about it, actually she thinks the idea of the show is absurd, but she pulls up her bootstraps and gets ready to sink her teeth into it.

Then she finds out who is going to be starring in the show. Super hunky Colin Brandt, who Stephanie is instantly attracted to. The show is about surviving in the wilderness of the Everglades, and since Stephanie seems to be getting even closer to Colin, she’s not sure if she really likes the idea of the show even more. She wants Colin for herself, but she also wants to keep her job. This book was definitely an interesting concept, and the story kept me on my toes.

This book wasn’t super romance-y, which made it nice to read. Stephanie’s character, in my opinion, was bad-ass and quite funny. I like a girl that, even though she has her own problems, is still strong and creative. Although not my typical type of book, I really did enjoy this and give it 5 out of 5 stars. Check out my upcoming review of the sequel, coming soon.

Leave a Reply

