When I’m Gone

51QkdZLaUeL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

After quite a long battle with cancer, Luke’s wife Natalie passes away in her sleep one night. Now he’s left to take care of their three children, Will who is fourteen, May who is nine and little Clayton who is just three years old. Luke knows it’s going to be rough finding a new way with out his wife, but when he starts receiving letters from Natalie, he feels he might be able to make it through with these new little pieces of her.

Eventually, these letters become more cryptic, and Natalie tells Luke that she has many secrets, and she hopes that he will be able to forgive her for everything that she has done. The secrets just keep getting weirder when their oldest son Will finds an envelope from an adoption agency from the month that he was born. Luke knows that Natalie was pregnant with Will, he saw the pictures, and even though he wasn’t there for the birth, he saw little Will as an infant. Now he must figure out what all Natalie’s secrets hide, and hopefully he doesn’t hurt himself and the kids with the truth.

Wow, this book was something else. I really really liked the beginning of this book, it kept me hooked. Natalie seemed like a very sweet wife and mother, and I missed her as well. The problems with the book started to come around the middle, when all of the secrets started pouring in. It felt like there were just too many things, too many avenues that the secrets kept opening up, and by the end of the book, I was pretty confused about the “big” secret, which made me dislike the ending of the book. I even went back a couple of pages and tried to re-read thinking that I forgot something, but the information didn’t match up and I just didn’t get it.

Plus there were characters in this book that I felt were there for almost no reason, and one of Natalie’s best friends, Annie, was around a lot, and the way that the characters developed their relationship through out the book was unnatural I felt, and I didn’t like it.

All in all, this book was okay. I am a little disappointed because this book was written by the same person who wrote Wreckage, which is a book that I really enjoyed. When I’m Gone by Emily Bleeker, is a book that I received from Netgalley, and I give it 3 out of 5 stars, unfortunately.

One thought on “When I’m Gone

Leave a Reply

