Awesome Possum-Children’s Book

Awesome-Possum.png

What is a boy to do when his parents split up, he has to move schools and his home, and barely ever gets to see his dad? Well, become friends with a horse of course! In Awesome Possum by M. Garzon we meet Ben, whose parents just got a divorce, and he doesn’t like where he lives now. One day while skipping school, he comes across a horse farm, where he meets a beautiful horse that he names Panther, when he and Panther start to spend more time together, they become unlikely friends. After much time together, Ben teaches Panther what it means to trust people again, and in turn Panther teaches Ben that maybe moving away from his old home isn’t so bad after all.

Awesome Possum is a children’s chapter book that explores some big ideas. Divorce, friendship and animals are the main themes of this novel. I thought it was such a sweet story, and I really think that it will help kids who are feeling left out, alone, and confused after their parents get divorced.

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review, so thank you! I think that we could all learn a lesson from this book, my lesson was to learn to trust people, especially when they are trying to help you. I, myself, like Panther, have a hard time getting close to people. Sometimes that costs friendships, and other things, but if I can learn to be close to people, I might find some enriching experiences!

This book also had some really cute illustrations, which made reading it even more fun, because you get to glimpse what the characters are doing in the story. It made me feel like I was a little kid again, when I used to read Charlotte’s Web and Stuart Little. I give this book  5 out of 5 stars, I do truly think it will help kids that are going through tough times, and I believe this is book 1 in a series, so maybe there will be more books that talk about different issues in a child’s life. Either way, it was a wonderful and adorable read.

One thought on “Awesome Possum-Children’s Book

Leave a Reply

